A team of seven Para-Cyclists have been selected by Paralympics New Zealand to the New Zealand Para-Cycling squad to compete in the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games this September.

Emma Foy and Laura Thompson triple World Champions will be joined by Paralympian Kate Horan, making her Para-Cycling debut following a switch from Para-Athletics and a silver medal at the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games.

The squad will include five Paralympic debutants and rising stars on the world stage. These include Emma Foy, Amanda Cameron, Hannah van Kampen, Byron Raubenheimer and Stephen Hills.

The announcement was made at the team's National Training Centre at Avantidrome in Cambridge today and marks the third Para-Sport announced for the New Zealand Paralympic Games team, taking the team to 17 Para-Athletes to date.


Since the London 2012 Paralympic Games these Para-Cyclists have had a list of stunning successes including two World Records, three World Champion titles, and twelve World Championship medals.

Together, they are expected to play a significant role in New Zealand's campaign at the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games, which commence on 7 September.

Collectively, the New Zealand Team is aiming to win 18 medals, including 12 gold, across up to 7 different Para-Sports. The team also hopes to retain its London 2012 title of number one in the world, medals per capita.

The full Para-Cycling squad is:
Kate Horan (Auckland) - C4 - Single limb deficiency
Emma Foy (Cambridge) - BVI - Visual impairment
Amanda Cameron (Auckland) - BVI - Visual impairment
Laura Thompson (Auckland) - (Sighted pilot)
Hannah van Kampen (Auckland) - (Sighted pilot)
Byron Raubenheimer (Cambridge) - C4 - Single limb deficiency
Stephen Hills (Auckland) - T2 - Right side hemiplegic