There are four newcomers on the list of contracted players to New Zealand Cricket.

NZC today announced the 20 players to be offered Black Caps contracts for the next 12 months.

The new names on the list are Nathan McCullum, Andy McKay, BJ Watling and Kane Williamson.

Scott Styris has returned after missing a contract last year and Daryl Tuffey has remained on the list after being reinstated last year following the retirement of Iain O'Brien.

Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Daniel Flynn and James Franklin have missed out on contracts this year.

The contracted players are:

Brent Arnel, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Gareth Hopkins, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Tim McIntosh, Andy McKay, Kyle Mills, Jacob Oram, Jeetan Patel, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor, Daryl Tuffey, Daniel Vettori, BJ Watling and Kane Williamson.

"Kane Williamson is a young player whose pedigree is impeccable in terms of cricket development and we are now confident that he can step into the international arena and further advance his game," said Black Caps coach Mark Greatbatch.

Players who have missed out on contracts can still play their way into the New Zealand squad through domestic performances, said Greatbatch.

Meanwhile, before the Black Caps head off to Sri Lanka for their ODI Tri-Series with the hosts and India next month, two of the Auckland based players have a special task to undertake.

Fast bowlers Daryl Tuffey and Kyle Mills are to pay a visit to children in the playroom of Kidz First tomorrow.

Tuffey has been to Middlemore Hospital a number of times before, including having surgery there recently.

"I've been a couple of times with the Black Caps around Christmas time when we used to play ODI games on Boxing Day in Auckland and it was great to see the look on the kids' faces," he said. "Obviously they are fighting their own battles so it's quite nice to go in and see some big smiles."

New Zealand in Sri Lanka - ODI Schedule

August 10: NZ vs India
August 13: NZ vs Sri Lanka
August 16: Sri Lanka vs India
August 19: NZ vs Sri Lanka
August 22: Sri Lanka vs India
August 25: NZ vs India
August 28: FINAL