Lock Victor Matfield will captain a powerful Barbarians rugby side dominated by Springboks against the All Blacks at Twickenham on Sunday (NZT).

Matfield was confirmed as skipper of the invitation side for the All Blacks' tour finale, along with six other South Africans in the starting lineup.

They were winger Bryan Habana, centre Jaque Fourie, halfback Fourie du Preez, flanker Schalk Burger, hooker Bismarck du Plessis and uncapped Free State prop WP Nel.

Wallabies Drew Mitchell, Matt Giteau, Rocky Elsom and George Smith were also named in the starting lineup, while 60-test All Black Joe Rokocoko will start on the right wing for the Barbarians and mark 20-year-old Zac Guildford.

The starting lineup - coached by Nick Mallett - is completed by Welsh midfielder Jamie Roberts, along with Italian prop Salvatore Perugini and lock Carlo del Fava.

"We have the benefit of a full week together ahead of the match and, knowing the talent that has been assembled among the 22 players, we expect to be very competitive and give the All Blacks and the Twickenham crowd a real taste of Barbarian rugby at its best," Mallett said.

Barbarians: Drew Mitchell (Australia), Joe Rokocoko (New Zealand), Jaque Fourie (South Africa), Jamie Roberts (Wales), Bryan Habana (South Africa), Matt Giteau (Australia), Fourie du Preez (South Africa), George Smith (Australia), Schalk Burger (South Africa), Rocky Elsom (Australia), Victor Matfield (captain, South Africa), Carlo del Fava (Italy), WP Nel (Free State), Bismarck du Plessis (South Africa), Salvatore Perugini (Italy).

Reserves: Stephen Moore (Australia), Tendai Mtawarira (South Africa), Quintin Geldenhuys (Italy), Andy Powell (Wales), Will Genia (Australia), Morne Steyn (South Africa), Leigh Halfpenny (Wales).