Just think, what if the 1986 Report of the Ministerial Advisory Committee on a Māori perspective for the Department of Social Welfare had been actioned in its entirety. Known as Puoa-Te-Ata-Tu (Daybreak) it was commissioned by the Labour Government Minister of Social Welfare Ann Hercus.

John Rangihau chaired the seven-member advisory committee that included four respected Māori leaders, as well as the Secretary of Māori Affairs, Deputy Chairman of State Services Commission and Director-General of Social Welfare.

Obviously this was never going to be your usual report, particularly not with John Rangihau's involvement.


Te Rangihau was recognised as a