The Bay of Plenty Regional Council's committee structure for the 2016 to 2019 term has been confirmed, following the appointment of Doug Leeder as regional council chairman and Jane Nees as his deputy.

The new committee structure has five core standing committees, four joint committees and five statutory committees to which councillors have been appointed.

Meeting minutes and further information about the regional council's structure is available at

Core Committees:


Regional Direction and Delivery
Chairwoman - Paula Thompson
Deputy - Andrew von Dadelszen
Members - all other 11 Councillors

Audit and Risk
Chairman - John Cronin
Deputy - David Love
Members - Councillors Crosby, Tahana, von Dadelszen. Independent to be appointed. Ex-officio chairman Doug Leeder

Komiti Māori
Chairman - Arapeta Tahana
Deputy - Tipene Marr
Members - Councillors Black, Clark, Love, Thurston.
Ex-officio chairman Doug Leeder

Lyall Thurston is the Bay of Plenty Regional Council's Public Transport Committee chairman.
Lyall Thurston is the Bay of Plenty Regional Council's Public Transport Committee chairman.

Public Transport
Chairman - Lyall Thurston
Deputy - Norm Bruning
Members - Councillors Crosby, Nees, Thompson, von Dadelszen, Winters.
Ex-officio chairman Doug Leeder

Lake Rotorua Incentives
Chairman - Norm Bruning

Joint Committees:

SmartGrowth Implementation Committee
Doug Leeder, Stuart Crosby, Jane Nees, Paula Thompson
Alternate: Andrew von Dadelszen

Ohiwa Harbour Implementation Forum
Tipene Marr, Bill Clark

Eastern Bay of Plenty Joint Committee
Norm Bruning, Bill Clark

Eastern Bay of Plenty Road Safety Committee
Andrew von Dadelszen

Statutory Committees:

Civil Defence Emergency Management
David Love
Alternate: Doug Leeder

Regional Transport
Chairman: Stuart Crosby
Deputy: Jane Nees
Alternate: Lyall Thurston

Rotorua Te Arawa Lakes Strategy Group
Doug Leeder, Kevin Winters
Alternate: Tipene Marr

Rangitāiki River Forum
Bill Clark, Tipene Marr, Kevin Winters
Alternate: David Love

Te Maru o Kaituna/Kaituna River Authority
Arapeta Tahana
Alternate: Jane Nees