The Rotorua public is being asked to nominate a local police person who has gone above and beyond the call of duty.

Nominations are now open for the Rotorua Police Person of the Year award.

Rotorua police area commander Inspector Bruce Horne said the award was first suggested by former Rotorua Rotarian Neil Fitzsimmons.

It is presented at the annual Police Pay Parade, usually held in early December.

All sworn staff (up to and below the rank of Senior Sergeant), all non-sworn staff and police volunteers based in the Rotorua area were eligible, Mr Horne said.


"The criteria for the award is 'recognition of work or duty above and beyond the expected standard, and/or where the nominee has excelled in their endeavours'.

"The intent of the award is to provide a way of recognising staff that consistently perform their duties to a high standard in the service of the community."

Rotorua Detective Kathryn Murphy won the award in 2014 for services to victims of serious crime.

"When I received it I was working for the child protection team. Most of the stuff we work on is a team effort for us, your name might be down as the officer in charge of the case but in actual fact there is a whole team working on it.

"It's hard to be singled out," she said.

Family violence co-ordinator Detective Sergeant George Staunton won last year for services to victims of family violence and vulnerable people.

"I was really surprised and excited and honoured.

"We can't police without community support and this is a way that they can show it. It helps with us building our trust and confidence," he said.

The judging panel comprises mayor Steve Chadwick, the president of the Rotorua Rotary Club (or his/her nominee) and the Rotorua police area commander.

Nominations can be made by completing the nomination form published in the Rotorua Daily Post - or by email to

Recipients of the award to date:
• 2007 Constable Karen Griffiths (nee Boyce) for services to vulnerable people
• 2008 Constable Jo Spry for services to youth
• 2009 Detective Sergeant John Wilson for services to Search and Rescue
• 2010 Sergeant Colin Peers for services to victims of crime
• 2011 Senior Sergeant Brent Crowe for services to community organisations
• 2012 Sergeant Steve Sutton and Senior Constable Viv Sutton for services to youth and the community
• 2013 Senior Constable Janine Treloar for services to bereaved families
• 2014 Detective Kathryn Murphy for services to victims of serious crime
• 2015 Detective Sergeant George Staunton for services to victims of family violence and vulnerable people