West shore beach campaigner Larry Dallimore says he is looking forward to getting down to business as one of Napier City's newest councillors.

His is one of four new faces around the council table. The others include former Napier Girls' High School Claire Hague, former councillor Tania Wright, and Apiata Tapine - who is believed to be the first Maori city councillor in Napier.

Three incumbent Napier City councillors - Mark Herbert, Mark Hamilton and Michelle Pyke - appear to have lost their seats.

After eighteen years on the council, Mr Herbert lost his Ahuriri seat to Westshore beach campaigner Larry Dallimore.


Mr Dallimore - who had felt his chances of being elected had taken a knock recently - said he was very pleased to be voted in.

"I'm very, very happy," he said. "My chances were dented, but not dented enough."

He was surrounded by family at his Westshore home when told he had been elected, and had already begun celebrating when contacted by Hawke's Bay Today.

He was told the news earlier today from Mayor Bill Dalton, who had been elected unopposed. He and other new councillors would be meeting with the Mayor for a customary interview next week.

Mr Dallimore said he was really looking forward to getting down to business at the council.

"I'm so appreciative of all the support I've gotten, and the people who voted for [Mr Herbert], well I hope I can please them," he said.

In other upsets - two-term councillor Ms Pyke lost out to Ms Hague, who is the new face of the six councillors elected in the At-large ward.

Kirsten Wise, Tony Jeffery, Richard McGrath, Faye White, and Keith Price will all return for another term.

The Nelson Park ward has been filled by running pair Maxine Boag and Mr Tapine.

In Taradale, Graeme Taylor has retained a seat, and will be joined by Ms Wright.