Key Points:

They built their reputation on outrageous on-stage antics, but last night The Mint Chicks proved they have the goods to back it up, winning three Tuis at the New Zealand Music Awards.

The punk rockers were the big winners of the night, claiming the Best Group award and winning Best Album and Best Rock Album for last year's release Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!.

The wins mark a break in tradition for the awards, which generally favour the most commercially succesful artists and albums.

Named TimeOut's album of the year for 2006, Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No! was a critical success but failed to achieve gold status, which requires a minimum of 7,500 album sales.

Soul singer Hollie Smith proved the hottest solo talent of the night, winning three awards, including Best Female Solo Artist.

The surprise win saw Smith beat out favourites Brooke Fraser and Hayley Westenra to claim the award.

Fraser continued her reign of commercial success, however, taking home the Highest Selling Album and Airplay Record of the Year awards.

New Zealand's original rocker Jonny Devlin became the second inductee to the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame, winning the New Zealand Herald Legacy Award.

The Hall of Fame was established earlier this year by RIANZ and APRA to honour those who have made a significant contribution to the New Zealand music industry.

The 69-year-old music veteran said he was honoured by the tribute and pleased to be back at the awards.

Hosted by comedian Dai Henwood, the ceremony featured live performances by Evermore, The Mint Chicks, Atlas, Brooke Fraser and Hollie Smith.

Album of the Year: The Mint Chicks - Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!
Single of the Year: Evermore - Light Surrounding You
Vodafone People's Choice Award: Opshop

Best Group: The Mint Chicks - Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!
Best Male Solo Artist: Tim Finn - Imaginary Kingdom
Best Female Solo Artist: Hollie Smith - Long Player
Breakthrough Artist of the Year: Hollie Smith - Long Player
Best Rock Album: The Mint Chicks - Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!
Best Urban/Hip Hop Album: PNC - Rookie Card
Best Aotearoa Roots Album: Hollie Smith - Long Player
C4 Best Music Video: Sam Peacocke - Crazy?Yes!Dumb?No! (The Mint Chicks)

Best Dance/Electronica Album: Shapeshifter - Soulstice
Best Maori Album: Richard Nunns & Hirini Melbourne - Te Whaiao: Te Ku Te Whe Remixed
Best Gospel/Christian Album: Rapture Ruckus - I Believe
Best Classical Album: John Psathas - View From Olympus
The New Zealand Herald Legacy Award: Johnny Devlin

International Achievement: Evermore

Highest Selling Album: Brooke Fraser - Albertine
Highest Selling Single: Atlas - Crawl
Airplay Record of the Year: Brooke Fraser - Deciphering Me