The district of Hastings needs a new mayor after Lawrence Yule became MP for Tukituki.

There are six candidates hoping to replace him: Bayden Barber, Sandra Hazlehurst, Simon Nixon, Stuart Perry, Allister Tosh and Waitawhara Tupaea.

In the first of four videos Local Focus asked the candidates: "What are the issues are in Hastings District?"

Read more: Hastings mayoral race heats up


Ballots are due in letter boxes for postal voting in November and if sitting councillors
Bayden Barber, Sandra Hazlehurst or Simon Nixon become mayor, another by-election will be necessary ahead of the normal election cycle in 2009.

Made with funding from