Teanelle Hatton and Andrew Mowlem were the big surf ski winners in the always exciting Poor Knights Crossing in Tutukaka.

The iconic event saw the committed athletes traverse a 30km open ocean crossing that starts inside a massive sea cave at the world-renowned Poor Knights Islands Marine reserve and finishes inside the picturesque Tutukaka Harbour.

Hatton was a more than comfortable winner in the women's event.

She powered through the ever-difficult event in 2 hours, 31 minutes and 31 seconds, nearly 45 minutes ahead of her nearest rival.


Danelle Snowden was the next to cross the line in 3:14:20 with Alex Huffadine close behind.

Meanwhile, Mowlem was pushed to the limit by veteran racer Todd Boreland in the men's event.

Mowlem put in a great showing as Boreland gave him all he had but in the end Mowlem pulled away for the four-minute win, crossing the line in 2:10:53.

Boreland ended second, cruising to the veteran title while Garth Spencer finished third.

The battle for fourth was one of the most exciting parts of the day as Jeremy Kuggeleijn and Jono Reshef went toe to toe for the majority of the race.

In the end it was Kuggeleijn who grabbed the fourth spot, 21 seconds ahead of Reshef but 12 minutes off the leader's pace.

In the waka ama portion it was Amanda Wheatley and Sean Herbert who braved the waters best.

Wheatley finished in 2:55:56 while Herbert got to the line in 2:32:00.

The big action in both races was for second place as the winners were comfortably ahead.

Hiria Rolleston and Ngaire Pehi almost needed a video referral system as just one second separated the pairing.

In an intense battle, Rolleston came out on top in 3:04:16.

The men's race saw Jamille Ruka and veteran Richard Pehi tussle tightly as they approached the line but Ruka had the wood on his opponent, finishing 10 seconds ahead in 2:40:08.

Pehi headed off other veterans Tonga White and McKay in their event.

The Poor Knights Crossing is the last event of the Tutukaka Winter Festival, giving the attendees some top-class action before it wraps up for another year.

Surf ski
1) Teanelle Hatton - 2:31:31
2) Danelle Snowden - 3:14:20
3) Alex Huffadine - 3:19:29

1) Andrew Mowlem - 2:10:53
2) Todd Boreland - 2:14:59 (v)
3) Garth Spencer - 2:18:35

1) Todd Boreland - 2:14:59
2) Sean Murphy - 2:40:39
3) Paul Gillard - 2:40:40

Waka ama
1) Amanda Wheatley - 2:55:56
2) Hiria Rolleston - 3:04:16
3) Ngaire Pehi - 3:04:17

1) Sean Herbert - 2:32:00
2) Jamille Ruka - 2:40:08
3) Richard Pehi - 2:40:18 (v)

1) Richard Pehi - 2:40:18
2) Tonga White - 2:44:30
3) Gordon McKay - 2:45:20