Premier rugby league round one results (April 6):

Takahiwai 54 beat Otangarei Knights 12
Portland Panthers 36 beat Horahora Broncos 6
Northern Wairoa Bulls BYE

Northland badminton results (April 6):

Northland 1 Masters 9 beat North Harbour 3
Northland 1 Masters 9 beat Waitakere 3


Waikato 7 beat Northland 2 Masters 5
Hawke's Bay 12 beat Northland 2 Masters 0

Northland cricket prize-giving (April 5)

Junior Club Cricket:

C Grade:
Pre Christmas – OCCC Racoons and Maungakaramea Veterans
Post Christmas – Bream Bay Swords

B Grade:
Pre Christmas – Bream Bay Blues and Kamo/KIS
Post Christmas – Bream Bay Blues

A Grade:
Pre Christmas – City Arrows
Post Christmas – OCCC Green Caps and CCC Arrows

Junior Representative Cricket:

Primary Boys:

Batsman – Adam Moggarch
Bowler – Connell O'Sullivan
Fielder – Mikey Robinson
Player of the Year – Ryan Krige


Junior Secondary Boys:

Batsman – Nick Byles
Bowler – Lucas James
Fielder – Sam Lints
Player of the Year – Nathan Condon

Senior Secondary Boys:

Batsman – Cam Gordon
Bowler – Nathan Parkes
Fielder – Luke Trigg
Player of the Year – Sam Webb

Junior Secondary Girls:

Player of the Year – Chelsea Trail


Senior Secondary Girls:

Player of the Year – Makayla Templeton

School Tournaments:

NZ Cup - Doug Thorpe Trophy (Year 7/8 Boys): Kamo Intermediate

NZ Shield - Intermediate Girls Trophy (Year 7/8 Girls): Kamo Intermediate

John Bruce Trophy (Year 9/10 Girls): Kamo Intermediate


Leaf Cup (Senior Secondary School Girls): Whangārei Girls' High School

Armstrong Shield (Year 9/10 Boys Tournament): Whangārei Boys' High School

Bruce Scott Trophy (Secondary Schools T20 Tournament): Whangārei Boys' High School

Robertson Shield (Premier Award for Secondary School Cricket): Whangārei Boys' High School

Division One and Reserve Grade Club Cricket:

Russell Smith Trophy – Division One


Pre-Christmas – City Blaze
Post-Christmas – City Blaze

Team Tait Real Estate Trophy – Reserve Grade One Day: City

Plus Trophy – Reserve Grade T20: Maungakaramea

Reserve Grade 50/40 Competition: City

Greg Guy Shield – Reserve Grade Sub Association Competition: Rodney Rams and City

Most Valuable Reserve Grade Players:


Batsman: Joseph Yovich
Bowler: Axel Shepherd
Player: Joseph Yovich

Premier Club Cricket

Karl Treiber Shield (Northland Premier Cricket Challenge Shield): Kaipara Flats

Dargaville Shield (Best Overall Premier Team – T20/OD/TD): Kaipara Flats

Mark Cromie Holden Trophy – Premier T20: City

Lion Red Trophy – Premier One Day: Kamo


Oxford Sports Trust Shield – Premier Two Day: Kaipara Flats

Most Valuable Premier Grade Players

Batsman: Callum Gegg

Bowler: Luke Beaven

Keeper (Lance Mountain Trophy): Rory Christopherson

Player (Bob Cunis Trophy): Stacy Hyndman


Most Outstanding Maori Player: Ollie White

Umpires Award (Graham Cowen Trophy for Greatest Contribution to Umpiring): Roger Kidd

Premier Club Team of the Season:

1. Rory Christopherson (wk)
2. Todd Beehre
3. Callum Gegg
4. Henry Cooper
5. Ian Page
6. Stacy Hyndman
7. Chris Page
8. Fletcher Coutts
9. Matt Taylor
10. Sam Webb
11. Byron Jollivet
12. Jack Cranage

Women's Player of the Year: Olivia Lobb

Northland Men – Second XI


Batsman: Matt Taylor
Bowler: Sam Webb
Player: Fletcher Coutts

Northland Men – First XI

Norm Wilson Trophy (Biggest Contribution to Northland 1st and 2nd XI): Paul Tomich

Captains Trophy: (presented to the Northland Men's Captain: Ben Hyde

Bob Henman Trophy (Most Meritorious Performance): Kyran Dill (7 for 41 v CM)

Bowler of the Year: Bruce Martin


Batsman of the Year: Ben Hyde

Northland Men's 1st XI Player of the Year (Brian Dunning Medal): Bruce Martin

Northland Cricket Association Player of the Year: Tim Southee