Olympic Gold Medallist Blair Tuke made it eight in a row when he took out the Supreme Award at the annual Far North District Council Far North Sports Awards last night.

Tuke, a Kerikeri Cruising Club member won the ASB Code award for sailing, followed by the Top Energy Far North Sportsman of the Year before being awarded the FNDC Supreme Award for his achievements which included winning the Olympic Gold medal in the 49er class yacht with Peter Burling.

The pair had a record number of wins at regattas leading up until the Olympics where they asserted their class, winning the gold medal before the last race.

Rose King took out the Top Energy Sportswoman of the Year for her achievements in Waka Ama while the Team of the Year went to the Herberts on Tour Waka Ama team.


The Club of Year was jointly shared between the Kaeo Rugby Sports Club and the Kaikohe Rugby Football as recognition for their community contribution and how well they looked after their members.

The awards were held in Paihia.

"It was great to have a full house on hand to acknowledge the achievements of our Far North Sportspeople," said Sport Northland Community Sport Advisor Ryan Maraki.

"It shows how proud our Far North people are of the achievements of their own and are keen to support and acknowledge them".

Far North Sports Awards 2016 Winners
Far North District Council Supreme Award: Blair Tuke, Sailing.
Top Energy Sportsman of the Year: Blair Tuke, Sailing.
Top Energy Sportswoman of the Year: Rose King, Waka Ama.
Fullers Great Sights Team of the Year: Herberts on Tour Waka Ama Team.
Fullers Great Sights Youth Team of the Year: Team Fat Oysters, Waka Ama.
Sport NZ Club of the Year: Joint winners, Kaeo Rugby Sports Club and Kaikohe Rugby Football and Sports Club.
Shackleton's Unichem Pharmacy Service to Sport:
Dean Harrison, Football
Jim Larkins, Swimming and Rugby League
Bernard Goodhue, Rugby
Allan Martin, Rugby
Anna Pospisil and Louise Thomson Marshall, Waka Ama
Far North District Council Contribution to Club Sport:
Maurice Rogers, Kaikohe Rugby
Hoani Hippolite, Kaikohe Touch
Graham Wilson, Kerikeri Rugby
ThermaTech Leadership Award:
Taal Smith, Kaikohe Sportville
ThermaTech Coach of the year
Ah Chong Sam Chong, Athletics.
Steinlager Pure Official of the year
Celia Honiss Swimming.
Pacific Motor Group Masters Sportsperson of the Year
Trish Muldrock, Power Lifting
Nyree King, Waka Ama
ASB Code & Youth Achievement Awards
Aimee Leaming, Youth Achievement, GymSports, Aerobics.
Freda Riwai, Basketball.
Dakota - Li Lum, Youth Achievement, Cross fit.
Rebecca Donovan, Youth Achievement, Equestrian.
Brooke Kingi, Golf.
Elleanor Kelly, GymSports, Tumbling.
Samantha Wasson, Hockey.
Teuarangi Tana, Youth Achievement, Karate.
Rowena Davis-Cooper, Netball.
Lisa Mather, Youth Achievement Netball.
Krystal Murray, Rugby.
Krystal Murray, Rugby League.
Nirelle McDonald, Squash.
Kayla Wikaire-Mackie, Youth Achievement Touch.
Sam Lahood, Unicycling.
Rose King, Waka Ama.
Ben Armstrong, AFL.
Rewi McPherson, Basketball.
Kyle Chen, Youth Achievement Boxing.
Kelly Lum, Youth Achievement Cross fit.
Dan Johnson, Football.
Taylor Gill, Golf.
Andrew van der Linden, GymSports Artistic Gymnastics.
Grayson Javins, Hockey.
Chris Sharp, Parafed Sailing.
Jack Ram, Rugby.
Brady Rush, Youth Achievement Rugby.
Eli George, Rugby League.
Te Kahi Nathan, Youth Achievement Rugby League.
Blair Tuke, Sailing.
Tim Robinson, Ocean Swimming.
Nat Blud, Youth Achievement Swimming.
Whitiora Hoani-Tipene, Youth Achievement, Touch.
Tupu King, Waka Ama.
Arapo Kellnar, Youth Achievement, Wrestling.