Nineteen will contest the 9 seats up for grabs on the Northland Regional Council in this year's Local Government Election race.

Northland Electoral Officer Dale Ofsoske said nominations for candidates officially opened on July 15, and closed today at midday.

This compares to 32 who stood for the regional council at the last elections in 2013 - continuing the trend of lower candidate numbers, with 44 standing for Whangarei District Council compared to 2013's 56.

Voters will choose nine regional councillors representing seven constituencies across the North; Te Hiku, Hokianga-Kaikohe, Coast North (two councillors), Coastal Central, Whangarei Urban (two councillors), Coastal South and Kaipara.


The full list of this year's candidates in alphabetical order by constituency is:

Coastal Central constituency (one vacancy)
Gavin Dawson
Paul Dimery
Paul Doherty

Coastal North constituency (two vacancies)
Dover Samuels
Bill Shepherd
Jocelyn Yeoman

Coastal South constituency (one vacancy)
Craig Brown
Rick Stolwerk

Hokianga-Kaikohe constituency (one vacancy)
Justin Blaikie
Joe Carr

Kaipara constituency (one vacancy)
Sarah Kennett
Penny Smart
Rob Stevenson
Mark Vincent

Te Hiku constituency (one vacancy)
Mike Finlayson
Monty Knight.

Whangarei Urban constituency (two vacancies)
John Bain
Paul Gosling
David Sinclair