Kiwi Mitch Evans and Brazilian Nelson Piquet Jr have been confirmed as Panasonic Jaguar Racing's two drivers for the 2017-18 Formula E championship.

Evans returns for his second season with the team after impressing in his rookie season despite a less-than-competitive car.

He has agreed to a new, longer-term deal which is understood to make him the second highest paid Kiwi driver behind Indycar star Scott Dixon.

"After such a great season it's fantastic to be continuing with Panasonic Jaguar Racing in season four," the 23-year-old said.


"As a team, we are moving in the right direction, and I can't wait for the kick-off in Hong Kong."

The British team is expecting to be far more competitive in what is season four of the all-electric category having played catch-up last season - their first in the sport.

"We are hugely excited to have Nelson on board for season four," team director James Barclay said.

"Mitch was one of the outstanding rookies of the season with some great qualifying and race performances.

"With our new driver line-up we are aiming to be a strong challenger on the grid, regularly competing for points. We have taken a lot of learnings from season three and the team have been working extremely hard throughout the off-season, focusing on the design and development of the new Jaguar I-TYPE 2."

The season begins in Hong Kong in December.