Key Points:

The Auckland suburb of Howick is set to get its own seat in Parliament under a proposed redrawing of electorate boundaries today.

The extra seat will reflect the growing population in Auckland.

The Representation Commission also wants changes to 61 electorates and new names for seven.

Boundaries have largely been adjusted to reflect the strong growth in population in Auckland and the slower growth in population in the central North Island and the lower part of the South Island.

"The Representation Commission's role is to review electorate boundaries to ensure the population in each is broadly the same," says Judge Bernard Kendall, Representation Commission Chairperson.

"Where possible we have tried to retain existing electorate boundaries and avoid splitting small communities."

What changes?
Additional Electorate:
One extra general electorate– taking the total number of general and Maori electorates to 70. The Howick electorate would include parts of the existing Pakuranga, Manukau East and Clevedon electorates.

New Names:
* Papakura - to replace parts of the Clevedon and Manurewa electorates.
* Hunua - to replace parts of the Clevedon and Port Waikato electorates.
* Ohariu to replace Ohariu-Belmont - with the Belmont area shifted into the Rimutaka electorate.
* Selwyn - comprises parts of Waimakariri electorate, Banks Peninsula and the old Rakaia electorate
* Rangitata - to replace parts of the Aoraki and Rakaia electorates
* Waitaki - to replace parts of the Otago and Aoraki electorates.
* Pare Hauraki-Pare Waikato - to replace Tainui

The existing electorates of Clevedon, Port Waikato, Rakaia, Aoraki, Otago and Tainui are proposed to be replaced by the above electorates.

No change:
Whangarei, North Shore, Northcote, Tauranga, Kaikoura, Ilam, Te Tai Tokerau and Waiariki

Members of the public and organisations have until 5 June 2007 to review the proposed boundaries and make objections.