Hawke's Bay Tui women's rugby team's first five-eighth Krysten Cottrell has predictably retained her spot in the Black Ferns team for next month's tests against the United States and France.

Cottrell, 26, was one of the most consistent performers during the Farah Palmer Cup Championship. Her absence with a knee injury was a key factor in the Bay's 34-10 loss to Otago in Saturday's semifinal in Dunedin.

"I've still been training. The knee has been getting better every day and it will get a good test at Hawke's Bay Sevens training tonight," Cottrell said shortly after the Black Ferns squad was named today.

It would have been a surprise if Cottrell had missed selection following her contributions off the subs bench for the Black Ferns during the wins against Australia in August.


"Apart from a couple of new outside backs [Wellington winger Ayesha Leti-l'iga, Otago centre Kilisitina Moata'ane and Auckland winger Natahlia Moors] the backs are pretty much the same.

"It's good to have that consistency as we all worked quite well in August," Cottrell said.

"It's good to have lots of experience in the squad as well as some new ones who are willing to step up and have a go," she added.

Four Magpies have been selected in the Maori All Black team for next month's American tour. Hooker Ash Dixon has retained the captaincy although it will be interesting to see how much game time he will have after missing the last seven Mitre 10 Cup fixtures with his knee injury.

Prop Ben May and halfback Brad Weber are back again and winger Jonah Lowe has made the side for the first time. He is a younger brother of former Maori All Black loosie Karl Lowe.

Auckland-based former Magpies halfback Jonathan Ruru has again been selected.

Black Ferns: Eloise Blackwell, Les Elder, Fiao'o Faamausili (c), Aldora Itunu, Linda Itunu, Pip Love, Charmaine McMenamin, Aleisha Nelson, Joanah Ngan-Woo*, Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate, Marcelle Parkes*, Jackie Patea-Fereti, Leilani Perese, Aroha Savage, Charmaine Smith, Cristo Tofa, Chelsea Alley, Kendra Cocksedge (vc), Krysten Cottrell, Kiritapu Demant, Ruahei Demant, Ayesha Leti-I'iga*, Kilisitina Moata'ane*, Natahlia Moors*, Kristina Sue, Monica Tagoai*, Stacey Waaka, Renee Wickliffe, Selica Winiata (vc). * Denotes debutant.
Northern tour: USA in Chicago on November 4 (6am NZ time), France in Toulon on November 10 (9am NZ time), France in Grenoble November 17 (2:30am NZ time).
New Zealand Māori: Chris Eves, Tyrel Lomax, Ben May, Marcel Renata, Ross Wright, Robbie Abel*, Ash Dixon (c), Jackson Hemopo, Pari Pari Parkinson, Isaia Walker-Leawere*, Billy Harmon*, Akira Ioane, Mitchell Karpik*, Hoani Matenga*, Reed Prinsep, Bryn Hall, Jonathan Ruru, Brad Weber, Otere Black, Joshua Ioane*, Matthew Lansdown*, Matt Proctor, Rob Thompson, Teihorangi Walden, Jonah Lowe*, Nehe Milner-Skudder, Shaun Stevenson*. Travelling as a replacement for the USA leg only is Canterbury wing Caleb Makene. * Denotes debutant.
American tour: USA in Chicago on November 4 (12pm NZ time), Brazil in Sao Paulo on November 11 (11am NZ time), Chile in Las Condes on November 18 (9am NZ time).