Hastings West Ross Shield rugby team player Monte Timu made history as he collected the Taupo Trophy in Waipukurau today.

The Taupo Trophy is awarded to the player-of-the-tournament at the 117-year-old Heinz-Wattie-sponsored event. It was first presented in 1988 and Timu and his brother Star, who won it in 2003, also in Waipukurau, are the first set of brothers to have their names on the trophy.

"It feels good. It makes my family, my Hastings West side and my Peterhead School proud," 13-year-old first five-eighth-centre Timu said.

One of four brothers to play for Hastings West, Timu, is the only two-time winner among them after the side he captained and Napier completed unbeaten runs today.


"It's still good to share it."

He pointed out "sticking to structures, good communication and playing with real heart and passion" were the keys to West's second consecutive title.

While he alternated between the 10 and 13 positions Timu said he is happy to play where required and but he believes his long-term future is in the pivot role.

A nephew of former All Black winger Roger Randle who played in the Hastings side which won the 1986 Ross Shield tournament, Timu, will attend Lindisfarne College next year and hopes to be a professional rugby player or doctor in the future.

Hastings West head coach Luke Rurawhe said it was a fantastic feeling to lead West to a share of the shield.

"I'm rapt for our kids, our sponsors and our community. This is the first time West has gone back to back."

The Peterhead School teacher said while he would like to coach the team again next year he couldn't make a decision on his availability until next year.

Timu was one of six Hastings West players selected in the Hawke's Bay Ross Shield team which he will captain. Napier had seven players selected.


Like Rurawhe, Napier head coach Tyrone Robinson, was a first timer in the role.

"I'm over the moon. To share the shield with West was unbelievable. It was a really good campaign and everything ticked along well. To get seven players selected in the Hawke's Bay team was a pretty good reflection of it."

He singled out Year 7 first five-eighth for his contribution and William Colenso College's first Hawke's Bay Ross Shield rep, blindside flanker Iosefa Sa. Robinson hopes to be back at the helm next year.

"I'm a Wairoa boy so it will be good to take the team up there."

As expected Dannevirke took home the Life Members Salver for the best country side and Wairoa the Ron Pierce Trophy for outstanding sportsmanship on and off the field throughout the week.

Day 5 results: Napier 19 Hastings East 10, Dannevirke 80 Wairoa 5, Hastings West 36 Central 14.
Points: Hastings West 9, Napier 9, Hastings East 6, Dannevirke 4, Central 2, Wairoa 0.
Ron Pierce Trophy: Wairoa.
Taupo Trophy: Monte Timu (Hastings West).
Life Members Salver: Dannevirke.
Ross Shield Winners: Hastings West and Napier.
The Hawke's Bay Ross Shield team to play Southern North Island Primary Schools in Dannevirke from 12.30pm on Saturday and Hawke's Bay Barbarians Schools in Napier on October 19 is:
Monte Timu (captain), Jonty Roil, Daniel Toala, Preston Whatarau, James Harper, Salvidor Karangaroa-Mackenzie (all Hastings West), Juan Ross, Richard Magele, Iosefa Sa, Tyler Vette, Hunter Kinney, Adrian Dixon, Te Aotaki Edmonds (all Napier), Schalk Fourie, Kyan Lowe, Daniel Aitken (all Hastings East), Manaia Hauiti, Rico Phillips, Josh Augustine (all Dannevirke), Bryce Wind, Jahmaige Reti-Young (both Central), Shane Ashby (Wairoa).