Hawke's Bay rower Tom Mackintosh admitted it was tough sacrificing a European holiday to attend last weekend's national elite trials.

"It was bitter-sweet coming back early but it all paid off," Mackintosh said after being named in the New Zealand men's coxless four for next month's world championships in Plodiv, Bulgaria.

Mackintosh had planned a holiday in Europe after last month's world under-23 championships in Poland where he was a member of the Kiwi men's coxless four which won bronze. Those plans were postponed when he was selected for the elite trials.

"We trialled against the existing elite squad and although we were still jetlagged after arriving back in the country a day or two earlier it all panned out. I was very stoked," Mackintosh said.


"There's a great dynamic to our crew. There's a lot of spark and fire there," Mackintosh explained.

Two of his crewmates for Bulgaria, Thomas Russel and Matt MacDonald were in the bronze-medal winning crew in Poland. The other member, Angus McFarlane, was in the New Zealand men's coxed four in Poland which won silver. Hawke's Bay's Ed Laver was also in this crew.

Laver also attended the elite trials but missed selection. He was also in the same group as Mackintosh which planned their European holiday and Mackintosh said Laver is likely to join them on holiday next month.

Another Bay rower Giacomo Thomas, who was already in the elite squad, was named in the Kiwi men's reserve double scull crew for Bulgaria with Tauranga's Jordan Parry. The Kiwi contingent of 48 athletes and 16 support staff will leave for Bulgaria on August 28.

"Until then we will be clocking up the ks," Mackintosh added.

After missing out on representing New Zealand in the men's single scull, eight-time former national single sculls champion and two-time Olympic champion Mahe Drysdale will compete in the men's quad with Lewis Hollows, Cameron Crampton and Nathan Flannery. National champion Robbie Manson has secured New Zealand's men's single scull seat after winning golds at the World Cup II and III regattas.