' />

Hawke's Bay Today

is proud to be associated with the annual Hawke's Bay Sports Awards, ably run by Sport Hawke's Bay.

The event is a great reminder of the wonderful talent this province produces. It is amazing to hear the tales of achievement and realise the hours of work and dedication to produce champions.

This year the 2016 Hawke's Bay Sports Awards will be held at Pettigrew-Green Arena, Taradale, on Saturday, May 21.


It promises to be a great night and now there is a chance that you could be there.

I am pleased to tell you that our friends at Sport Hawke's Bay have agreed to offer an amazing prize of two tickets (valued at $190) to the awards function, as well as a complimentary night in a villa at the Kennedy Park Resort in Napier.

All you have to do is to enter the inaugural NZME People's Choice Award and choose who you think is Hawke's Bay's Sportsperson of the Year.

The nominees are: William Trubridge - free diving; Jason Long - speedway and rugby; Bill Robertson - football; Emma Twigg - rowing; Shea McAleese - hockey; and Doug Bracewell - cricket.

They are all champions in my book but it is up to you who you think is the most deserving.

You don't have much time before we draw the lucky winner.

To vote, send an email (with People's Choice in the subject line) to news@hbtoday.co.nz. Voting will close at 5pm on Monday, May 16.

Good luck and who knows, we may just see you at the 2016 Hawke's Bay Sports Awards.