Internationally acclaimed haka soul musician Rob Ruha walked away with a collection of four trophies at the 11th Annual Waiata Māori Music Awards last night.

He was nominated seven times.

The awards were held at Hastings Clubs and are celebrated to develop, encourage and honour the achievements of outstanding traditional and contemporary musical compositions and performances annually.

Ruha's wins for his latest album Survivance included Best Māori Male Solo Artist/ Manu Tīoriori Tāne Autaia, Best Māori Traditional Album/ Kōpae Mōteatea Hira, Best Māori Urban Artist/ Kaipūoro MāoriNoho-Taone Autaia and Best Song by a Māori Artist /Waiata Māori for Kalega.


Songstress Ria Hall who released her pop album Rules of Engagement last year, was named Best Māori Female Solo Artist.

Manu Tīoriori Wahine Autaia and singer/songwriter Seth Haapu won the Best Māori Songwriter for his track New Wave.

Elsewhere, Aotearoa's heaviest metal band, Alien Weaponry, were awarded Best Music Video by a Māori Artist / Ataata Māori Hira o te Tau for their powerful single Kai Tangata.

For a second year in a row, prestigious New Zealand band Six 60 took out Radio Airplay Song of the Year by a Māori artist for their single Don't Give Up.

Māori pop sensation Maimoa were awarded Radio Airplay Song of the Year by a Māori Artist in Te Reo Māori for their iconic pop hit Wairua.

Two Emerging Artists were also named by the awards this year. Singer and rapper Ngatai Waretini won the Emerging Artist in the Under 25 category and Arona Maui was awarded in the Over 25 category for his soulful vocals.

Other award winners on the night included last year's award winning Male Solo Artist Troy Kingi who this year took out the title for Best Māori Pop Album.

Wellington band Tomorrow People were awarded Best Roots for their album BBQ Reggae which went to number one earlier this year, knocking Ed Sheeran off the top of the Kiwi album charts.

Dual awards were also honoured this year as Keepers of Tradition award went to renowned ta moko artist, Laureate Derek Lardelli and Dame Georgina Kingi DNZM QSO, esteemed New Zealand educator and principal of Napier's St Joseph's Maori Girls' College.

Legendary Māori showband troubadour Monty Cowan was honoured with a special award for his Lifetime Contribution to Māori Music.

The late House of Shem lead singer Carl Perkins was also awarded the Music Industry Award was granted the Music Composers Award.