Nominations for North ward candidates for the Tararua District Council have flooded in at the last minute, with 10 people vying for four seats.

"I'm surprised people have left it so late to put their names forward in the North ward," retiring district mayor Roly Ellis said. "However, in the South ward it's been difficult to persuade people to come forward. But in the North ward there are a lot of people who fancy their chances."

Five nominations have been received for the Tararua District mayoralty and 10 for the council in the North ward where councillor David Roberts has retired.

However, just four nominations have been received for council seats from the South ward, including mayoral candidates, Shirley Hull and Tracey Collis. Deputy mayor Bill Keltie, a previous South ward councillor, isn't seeking a council seat this time


Four people are standing for the Eketahuna Community Board, with seven for the Dannevirke Community Board, with chairman Bob Dresser not standing.

The one Tararua seat on Horizons Regional Council will be contested between incumbent Dannevirke's John Barrow and new candidates Andrew Day, of Pahiatua, and Dannevirke's Lorraine Stephenson.

Eketahuna's Diane Anderson is standing once again for the seat on the MidCentral District Health Board, a position she's held for five terms.

Sharon Wards, of Dannevirke, the chief executive of the Tararua Health Group, is contesting the MidCentral election for the first time.

The STV (single transferable voting system) is used for electing DHB board members - a system of proportional representation which enables voters to rank candidates in order of preference - those preferences then determining the overall result of the election.