Ikaroa Rawhiti MP Meka Whaitiri celebrated her re-election with firm sights on how long she hopes to remain in Parliament - with no plans to hang-about as long as those before her.

First elected in a by-election in June last year, she's just the fifth Maori electorate MP representing her Ngati Kahungunu people in 82 years - ranging from the 14 years served by immediate predecessor the late Parekura Horomia to the 35 of late Southern Maori MP Sir Eruera Tirakatene Sullivan.

Ms Whaitiri said she has her sights on no more than 10 years - the year that's just gone and the next three terms.

"That's all about succession, isn't it?" she said, indicating part of the job will be about making sure there is someone to succeed her when it's time to go, and maintain a Labour tradition which has seen the party in the chair in the region for all but three years since 1932.


"If I get to 10 years I'm going to kick myself out," she said.

Ms Whaitiri had four generations of the family present on election night at the Clive Rugby Club, including teenaged sons Wirangi and Nohorua Parata, but was preparing for an early start with a 6.45am Sunday flight to Auckland for TV interviews.

Aged 49, Ms Whaitiri had an election-night majority of 4279, more than three times that of her by-election win, with Mana Movement candidate Te Hamua Nikora having to settle for second place both times. He received the news at his election night gathering in Gisborne.

The votes totalled 18,820, well up on the low by-election vote and about 600 more than cast in the 2011 General Election in the electorate.

Ms Whaitiri polled 8614, Mr Nikora 4335, Wairarapa-based Maori Party candidate Marama Fox 3315, and Dannevirke-based Green Party representative Henare Kani was delighted with a poll of 1840. Independent candidate Cathryn Eden, of Napier, received 196 votes, and Australia-based The Expats representative Vicky Rose 76.

Ms Fox appears likely to win a place as a List MP.

Ikaroa Rawhiti was established in 1999, covering the area of six general electorates from East Coast to Hutt South, and the tribal regions of Ngati Porou - Potikirua ki Te Toka-a-Taiau, Te Aitangi-a-Mahaki, Rongowhakaata, Ngai Tamanuhiri and Hawke's Bay-Wairarapa iwi Ngati Kahungunu.

For most of the time, the region was in a Southern Maori electorate which included the South Island.

Party Candidates
EDEN, Cathryn IND 196
M?ori Party 2,313 FOX, Marama MAOR 3,315
Green Party 1,886 KANI, Henare GP 1,840
NIKORA, Te H?mua MANA 4,335
The Expats 0 ROSE, Vicky EXP 76
Labour Party 8,962 WHAITIRI, Meka LAB 8,614
ACT New Zealand 22
Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party 231
Ban1080 20
Conservative 108
Democrats for Social Credit 2
Focus New Zealand 4
Internet MANA 1,753
National Party 1,010
New Zealand First Party 2,224
NZ Independent Coalition 13
The Civilian Party 2
United Future 6