Key Points:

It was smiles all round for TV3 this morning, following the announcement of this year's Qantas Television Awards finalists.

3 News and Campbell Live scored clean sweeps in both the Best News Reporting and Best Current Affairs Reporting categories, claiming all six nominations.

Looking at the finalist list, TV One's Mark Sainsbury - who was chatting with his old friend John Campbell - joked: "It must be a misprint, surely."

Campbell was delighted with the announcement and paid tribute to the programme's dedicated team of reporters.

"Our reporters work really hard. There aren't many of them, we only have seven of the buggers, but they do a fantastic job.

"They take a great deal of care and pride in their work so I'm bloody delighted."

Sainsbury was philosophical about Close Up's omission from the category but said it reflected a healthy competition in the industry.

"Some years things go well, some years they don't. I'm disappointed for our reporters, I think they do a really fantastic job, but that's just the way it goes."

Sainsbury himself was nominated for Best News or Current Affairs Presenter, alongside Campbell and Fair Go's Kevin Milne.

The Hothouse dominated the television drama categories, earning ten nominations across six categories, while Outrageous Fortune came a close second with eight nominations across seven categories.

Hosted by Petra Bagust and Jason Gunn, the awards will be broadcast on TV One on Saturday November 24.

Best Actor in a TV Drama
Antony Starr - Outrageous Fortune
Ryan O'Kane - The Hothouse
Kip Chapman - The Hothouse
Best Actress in a TV Drama
Tania Nolan - The Hothouse
Hannah Gould - The Hothouse
Robyn Malcolm - Outrageous Fortune

Best Drama
The Hothouse - Gibson Group
Outrageous Fortune - South Pacific Pictures
Rude Awakenings - MF Films Ltd

Best Script (non-factual)
Fiona Samuel - Rude Awakenings
Rachel Lang - Outrageous Fortune
James Griffin - Outrageous Fortune

Best Director (drama)
Nathan Price - The Hothouse
Danny Mulheron - The Hothouse
Mark Beesley - Outrageous Fortune

Best Childrens/Youth Programme
The Simon Eliot - Gibson Group
Play It Strange - Isola Productions
Lets Get Inventin - Magic Gadget Television Spaceman

Best Comedy
broTown - Firehorse Films
Pulp Sport - Shonky Productions
The Unauthorised History of New Zealand - Great Southern Television

Best Entertainment
Dancing with the Stars - TVNZ
Westfield Style Pasifika 2007 - Drum Productions
Deal or No Deal - Imagination Television Ltd

Best Information/Lifestyle
Downsize Me - ABH Productions Ltd
ICE - Jam TV Ltd
Fair Go - TVNZ

Best Reality (format)
Police Ten 7 - Screentime Ltd
NZ Idol 3 - South Pacific Pictures
Marae DIY - Screentime Ltd/Hula Haka Pdtns

Best Observational Reality (non format)
Emergency - Greenstone Pictures
Intrepid Journeys - Jam TV Ltd
Henderson to Hollywood - Omnicron Productions Ltd

Best Director (non-drama)
John Hagen - Here to Stay
Melanie Rakena - ICE
Reuben Pillsbury - Henderson to Hollywood

Best News
One News
3 News

Best News or Current Affairs Presenter
Mark Sainsbury - Close Up
Kevin Milne - Fair Go
John Campbell - Campbell Live

Best News Reporting
3 News - Benson Pope
3 News - Folole Muliaga
3 News - Lahar

Best Current Affairs Reporting for a Weekly Programme or One Off Current Affairs Special
Sunday - No Life Support
Sunday - The Tilers Tale
Sunday - Then There Were Two
60 Minutes - Let us Spray

Best Current Affairs Reporting for a Daily Programme
Campbell Live - Spider
Campbell Live - Survivor
Campbell Live - Tony

Best Current Affairs Series
Native Affairs (Maori Television)
Campbell Live (TV3)
60 Minutes (TV3)

Investigation of the Year
Sunday - The Tilers Tale
60 Minutes - Handle with Care
60 Minutes - Let us Spray