Isaiah Priddey won the sole track final of the day, the senior boys 3000m, surging away from the field over the last 400m to take the title and improve on his second placing in the event the previous year.

The Hamilton Boys High School athlete clocked 8:40.12 and will now attempt to win the 1500m to complete a difficult but coveted double.

Joseph Clarke from Westlake Boys was second in 8:44.56 and Connor Melton (Cashmere High) took the bronze in 8:46.55.

Nick Forster of Lincoln College won the senior boys long jump with a best jump of 6.57m with Cameron Miller (Otago Boys) on 6.51m and Cody House third in 6.42m.

Andrew Allan (Gore High School) confirmed his favouritism in the senior boys triple jump, taking the title with a jump of 14.00m and improving his placing of third the previous year. Adam Norman jumped 13.79m for second and Kieran Pere was third with 13.44m.

Anthony Nobilo (Westlake Boys) won the senior boys hammer with an outstanding distance of 75.55m, just a metre short of the record. Anthony Barmes and Thomas Valentine filled the minor placings.

Kayla Goodwin from Sacred Heart Hamilton had the satisfaction of winning the senior girls triple jump following a disqualification for false starting in her 100m hurdles heat. Goodwins best jump of 12.10m while runner-up Lisa Putt (St Kentigern) jumped 11.48 for second ahead of Jamie Speer (Massey) with 11.72m.

Olivia McTaggart (Correspondence School) added 0.20m to the senior girls pole vault record, clearing 4.30m to better the record she shared with Eliza McCartney. Imogen Ayris Takapuna Grammar also jumped impressively, clearing 4.00m while Kazaya Vos filled third place with 3.30m.

Maddison Wesche created history in the senior girls shot put, winning her fifth consecutive schools title in a single event and breaking her own championship record with a throw of 17.02m. Jaidyn Busch threw 14.22m for second, just ahead of Mellata Tatolas 14.15m in third.

The senior girls discus went to Commonwealth Youth Games silver medallist Taitiana Kaumoana from Te Aroha College with a best throw of 47.65m on her final throw. Javelin runner-up Caitlin Bonne finished with another silver medal with a throw of 44.24m and Mellata Tatola repeated her shot put third placing on 40.24m.

Tim Robinson from Wellington College emulated his older broth Cam to make it a family double for the boys javelin titles. Tim threw 54.43m to secure the junior boys title with defending champion Ethan Walker finishing second with 50.99m and Sheehan Ryan third on 44.05m.

Jayden Williamson from Rosmini College was the winner of the junior boys high jump, clearing 1.89m, just ahead of Jaundre Pienaar and Xander Manktelow, both on 1.86m.

The junior girls pole vault was won by Aria Rhodes from Pinehurst School with a personal best of 3.50m, setting a new championship record by 0.40m. Hannah Adye from Mt Albert Grammar also exceeded the previous record clearing 3.40m for second while Jess Sheldon from Rangitoto was over 3.20m for third place.

Genna Maples (Wanganui Collegiate) took out the junior girls long jump with a jump of 5.42m from Sarah Langsbury (5.19m) and Sarah Stewart (5.15m).

The junior girls shot put went to Caroline Kolver from St Peters on 13.87m with Olivia Sherman (13.26m) and Zharna Beattie (12.72m) in the minor placings.

Violet Perry from St Margarets came out on top in the junior girls discus, throwing 37.70m and defeating Zharna Beattie and Olivia Sherman.

William Stedman was the best of the Para athlete long jumpers, while Anna Steven had the longest jump of the girls.

Christina Shepherd from St Andrews College was the best of the Para athlete girl throwers while Jack Lewer showed out in the Para athlete boys.

The championships continue on Sunday with the road races and a full programme of track finals and the remainder of the field programme.

- This story has been automatically published using a media release from Athletics New Zealand