Where Democrat's talkathon fits in Senate history

WASHINGTON (AP) " The Senate is famous for marathon speeches. Some are obstructive filibusters to delay or scuttle legislation or a presidential nominee, while others are just unusually long speeches.

Oregon Democratic Sen. Jeff Merkley's action "holding the floor" for more than 15 hours Tuesday night into Wednesday morning wasn't a filibuster under Senate rules, but his remarks protesting the Supreme Court nomination of Colorado Judge Neil Gorsuch certainly made the list of lengthiest Senate speeches.

A look at the longest U.S. Senate filibusters and speeches since 1900, when the Senate began keeping precise records:

"24 hours, 18 minutes: Strom Thurmond of South Carolina, civil rights bill, 1957

"23 hours, 30 minutes: Alfonse D'Amato of New York, military bill, 1986

"22 hours, 26 minutes: Wayne Morse of Oregon, Tidelands oil bill, 1953

"21 hours, 19 minutes: Ted Cruz of Texas, health care bill, 2013

"18 hours, 23 minutes: Robert La Follette Sr. of Wisconsin, currency bill, 1908

"16 hours, 12 minutes: William Proxmire of Wisconsin, debt increase, 1981

"15 hours, 30 minutes: Huey Long of Louisiana, industrial recovery, 1935

"15 hours, 27 minutes: Jeff Merkley of Oregon, Supreme Court nominee Neil Gorsuch, 2017

"15 hours, 14 minutes: D'Amato, tax bill, 1992

"14 hours, 50 minutes: Chris Murphy of Connecticut, gun control, 2016

"14 hours, 13 minutes: Robert Byrd of West Virginia, civil rights bill, 1964

"12 hours, 52 minutes: Rand Paul of Kentucky, use of drones against American citizens, 2013

"10 hours, 31 minutes: Paul, renewal of Patriot Act, 2015


Onscreen in "Mr. Smith Goes to Washington":

Nearly 24 hours: Jefferson Smith (Jimmy Stewart), Willet Dam, 1939


Source: Senate Historical Office, Columbia Pictures.

This story has been automatically published from the Associated Press wire which uses US spellings

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf02 at 27 May 2017 17:47:16 Processing Time: 601ms