6 emerging writers win film academy's Nicholl Fellowships

LOS ANGELES (AP) " Six emerging screenwriters are getting a boost from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The organization announced Thursday the winners of its annual Nicholl Fellowship in Screenwriting, which comes with a $35,000 prize and yearlong academy support toward the completion of a feature-length screenplay.

Winners will receive the first installment of their prize money and hear their work performed aloud at a Nov. 3 event at the film academy's headquarters in Beverly Hills, California.

The global competition drew 6,915 screenplay entries. The winners and their hometowns are Michele Atkins, "Talking About the Sky" (Seattle); Spencer Harvey and Lloyd Harvey, "Photo Booth" (Balgowlah, Australia); Geeta Malik, "Dinner with Friends" (Los Angeles); Elizabeth Oyebode, "Tween the Ropes" (Sunnyvale, California); and Justin Piasecki, "Death of an Ortolan" (Los Angeles).

This story has been automatically published from the Associated Press wire which uses US spellings

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2016, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf05 at 23 Oct 2016 20:26:40 Processing Time: 342ms