Women who have won a party's nomination for US president

Dozens of women have sought the presidency throughout U.S. history. A list of the 30 who received the nomination of their party:

1872: Victoria Woodhull (Equal Rights Party)

1884: Belva Ann Lockwood (National Equal Rights Party)

1888: Belva Ann Lockwood (National Equal Rights Party)

1940: Gracie Allen (Surprise Party)

1952: Ellen Linea W. Jensen (Washington Peace Party); Mary Kennery (American Party); Agnes Waters (American Woman's Party)

1968: Charlene Mitchell (Communist Party)

1972: Linda Jenness (Socialist Workers Party); Evelyn Reed (Socialist Workers Party, 3 states)

1976: Margaret Wright (People's Party)

1980: Ellen McCormack (Right to Life Party); Maureen Smith (Peace and Freedom Party); Deirdre Griswold (Workers World Party)

1984: Sonia Johnson (Citizens Party); Gavrielle Holmes (Workers World Party)

1988: Lenora Fulani (New Alliance Party); Willa Kenoyer (Socialist and Liberty Union parties)

1992: Lenora Fulani (New Alliance Party); Helen Halyard (Socialist Equality Party); Isabell Masters (Looking Back Party); Gloria La Riva (Workers World Party)

1996: Monica Moorehead (Workers World Party); Marsha Feinland (Peace and Freedom Party); Mary Cal Hollis (Socialist Party, Liberty Union Party); Diane Beall Templin (The American Party); Isabell Masters (Looking Back Party)

2000: Monica Moorehead (Workers World Party); Cathy Gordon Brown (Independent)

2004: Diane Beall Templin (The American Party)

2008: Cynthia McKinney (Green Party); Gloria La Riva (Party for Socialism and Liberation); Diane Beall Templin (The American Party)

2012: Jill Stein (Green Party); Roseanne Barr (Peace and Freedom Party); Peta Lindsay (Party for Socialism and Liberation)

2016: Hillary Clinton (Democratic Party); Jill Stein (Green Party)

This story has been automatically published from the Associated Press wire which uses US spellings

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2016, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf02 at 01 Oct 2016 09:24:02 Processing Time: 440ms