Dutchman to head Eurogroup

Jeroen Dijsselbloem. Photo / AP
Jeroen Dijsselbloem. Photo / AP

Jeroen Dijsselbloem of the Netherlands has taken over as chairman of the key Eurogroup of finance ministers, despite resistance in a vote to replace Luxembourg's Jean-Claude Juncker.

"We appointed the Dutch Finance Minister Jeroen Dijsselbloem to become the new president of the Eurogroup," Juncker told a press conference yesterday after barely five hours of talks.

Dijsselbloem was given a 30-month term and would retain his [Dutch] post, the Eurogroup said.

Dijsselbloem said it was "a distinct honour to be given the possibility to succeed Jean-Claude".


© Copyright 2015, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 29 Jan 2015 18:31:08 Processing Time: 428ms