Kaierau names premier squads

By Iain Hyndman

Kaierau Netball has named its premier squads for the 2013 season ahead of the club's 35th anniversary celebrations in June.

Club president Kirsten Ashworth said it was a big year for Kaierau Netball with both the anniversary celebrations and the Premier 1 side competing in the Super League in March.

"Thirty-five years down the track and it is fair to say that fundraising tactics have changed a lot since the first ever bottle drive for Kaierau Netball in 1978," Ashworth said yesterday.

"The Kaierau Netball Club is excited about holding the anniversary weekend celebrations on June 22-23 at the Kaierau Country Club. This is an exciting year for the club, both with the 35th anniversary and with our Premier 1 team competing in the Super League in March.

"Trials were held last week and we have now named two strong sides to continue on from the success of last season."

With Premier 1 and 2 trials finished, the Kaierau Netball season is officially under way with the selection of the teams after a successful round of trials at Rutherford Junior High School last week.

"Around 25 eager girls attended the two trial sessions, undergoing a variety of fitness tests before getting into the trial games. A1 coach Marie Kinloch was impressed with the skill and energy levels of the triallists.

"Each individual showcased their skills and abilities for the Kaierau A1 and A2 trials which, in fact, made the selection panel job harder than expected. However, with plenty of deliberation the A1 squad has finally been selected. I congratulate all players and I look forward to our 2013 season."

The club will also be holding an open day on Sunday April 7 at Laird Park between 3pm and 5pm. The open day is open to all new and existing members and is designed to give players the opportunity to meet other members, have a few games of netball, and finish off with some drinks and nibbles. The club caters for a number of social teams and players and anyone interested is urged to contact the club.

The squads named are:

A1: Kate Hutchings, Kendall Pratt, Kristen Ashworth, Melissa Crothers, Rachael Lynch, Ruaturia Marshall-Ponga, Berrie O'Connor, Blanche Cloete, Rebecca Matthews, Suzanne Guidford, Steph Noda, Abbey Sherman and Amy Archer.

A2: Clare Lynch, Gemma Wilson, Rachael Gallagher, Leigh Cornish, Ashleigh Lockett, Jo McElrea, Lauren McDonald, Cassey Titta and Hollie McPhunn.

- Wanganui Chronicle

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 27 May 2017 12:16:03 Processing Time: 451ms