Event interest on the rise

By Staff reporter

The Whangaehu Horse Sports continues to be a proven draw with 170 horses and twice as many people attending the event on Saturday.

With horse trainer Raymond Connors kindly lending six paddocks for the event, people from New Plymouth, Palmerston North, Foxton and Levin joined the locals for a day of judging and jumping.

There were a record number of Pleasure Hacks and with a new sponsor coming on board to complement the many others from around Wanganui, it has been announced there will be two Pleasure Hack rings in 2014.

Sports Horse

Hack Champion: Paula Glasgow (Jake); Reserve champion: Dana Sutton (Irish Ambition).

Pleasure Hack Champion: Theresa Te Va Allpress (Emmy); Reserve champion: Georgia Hodges (Rock my Socks).

Pleasure Champion: Claire Cvitanovich (Bush Bot); Reserve champion: Fiona Grappe (Smooth Torque).

12 years Pleasure Pony: Hayden O'Leary (King Lvey); Reserve champion: Danielle King (Indianna Jive).

11 years Pleasure Pony: Matthew Gray (Cocoa); Reserve champion: Lauren Aiken (Oceania Golden Girl).

10 years and under overall winner: Sophie Black (Fidget).

Led Pony overall winner: Paige Milne (Bunny).

Skillfactor, 15 years and over: Rachael O'Leary (Barney).

Skillfactor, under 15 years: Molly Milne (Jaffa).

Cup Winners

Local Rosebowl Points Cup: Rachael O'Leary (Barney).

George Grey Cup: JJ Rayner (Our 5 Star).

Pitzac Cup: Melissa Stratford (Lord Jimmy).

Ladies Rosebowl: David Burton (Albert Hall).


Local 70cm: Luke Myers (Ring Ted).

Pony 80cm: Melissa Stratford (Lord Jimmy).

Hack 80cm: Geraldine Wood (Duggan).

Pony 90cm: Melissa Stratford (Lord Jimmy).

Hack 90cm: Sarah Lilburn (Lindauer).

Hack 100cm: Lucy Kellick (Cracker).

Hack 105cm: David Burton (Albert Hall).

Hack 110cm: Charlotte Gray (Bridgemere Havana).

Veterans Games: Humphrey O'Leary (O'Connor).

RTR Jumps -

One bale: Charla Andrews (Herb).

Two bales: JJ Rayner (Our 5 Star).

Best combination two-bale: Rebekah Larmer (Pachine).

Novice wooden: JJ Rayner (Our 5 Star).

Open wooden: JJ Rayner (Our 5 Star).

Local two bale: Caley Myers (Craze).

Pony RTR winners -

Beginners one bale: Tayla Morrison (Ruby).

on (Flower).

Best combination two bale: Melissa Stratford (Lord Jimmy).

Open RTR: Caley Myers (Gypsy Gem).

$250 Schimanski High Jump: Charlotte Gray (Bridgemere Havana).

- Wanganui Chronicle

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2016, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 31 Aug 2016 06:03:05 Processing Time: 297ms