First council candidate nominations in

By Anne-Marie McDonald

Add a comment

Official nominations have started trickling in for the local government elections.

Whanganui District Council's returning officer Noeline Moosman confirmed five candidates - Alan Abbott, Steve Baron, Ross Fallen, Doreen Hardy and Dave Hill - had put their names forward for the Whanganui Council.

No nominations have yet been received for Whanganui Mayor, Whanganui District Health Board.

Horizons Regional Council has received six nominations - Bruce Gordon, Rachel Keedwell, Pat Kelly, Ralph Pugmire, Wiremu Kingi Te Awe Awe and John Barrow - but none for the Whanganui constituency.

Nominations opened on July 15, and those interested in standing have until August 12 to submit their nomination.

Elections will be held on October 8.

- Wanganui Chronicle

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf03 at 24 May 2017 09:58:47 Processing Time: 408ms