By-Election 2014 results

1 comment
Wanganui District Council PHOTO/FILE
Wanganui District Council PHOTO/FILE

Radio announcer Jason Granville is Wanganui's newest district councillor.

Mr Granville convincingly beat seven other candidates in today's by-election to take the seat vacated by former councillor Michael Laws in April.

With 5,630 votes, Mr Granville was more than 3000 votes ahead of Graham Adams in second place, with Sharon Duff a distant third. The lower ranked candidates were, in order, Ross Mitchell-Anyon, Rana Waitai, Adrian Tepatu, Bruce Parr and Bill Milbank.

Mr Granville, who is a radio announcer with More FM, stood for the Wanganui District Council in the October local body elections, but missed out on a seat by just 77 votes.

The voter turn-out for the by-election was 13,309, or 42.8 per cent of eligible voters.

Read the full story in Monday's Wanganui Chronicle.

Wanganui District Council by-election 2014

Preliminary results for Saturday, 19th July 2014

Candidate -- Votes
GRANVILLE, Jason -- 5624
ADAMS, Graham -- 2530
DUFF, Sharon -- 1842
MITCHELL-ANYON, Ross -- 1151
WAITAI, Rana -- 765
TE PATU, Adrian -- 626
PARR, Bruce -- 367
MILBANK, William Handley (Bill) -- 360


- Wanganui Chronicle

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


Have your say

1200 characters left

By and large our readers' comments are respectful and courteous. We're sure you'll fit in well.
View commenting guidelines.

Sort by
  • Oldest

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 28 Apr 2017 10:00:25 Processing Time: 473ms