Local squad shines in Wellington


There were several winning efforts from Wairarapa athletes on the second day of the Wellington track and field championships at Newtown Park, Wellington.

The 200m races saw Simone Small, Andrea Williams and Finn Yeats all win their age groups with Small and Williams also successful over 400m, a distance over which Stevie Paine won the women's 20yrs title in a slick 59.89. Daniel Anstis won his AWD (athletes with disability) events over both 200m and 400m and Tony Price won the men 55yrs crown over 3000m.

In the field events, Tim Girling-McLean was victorious in the discus as was Tom Quinn in the javelin and Anstis showed his versatility by winning the AWD long jump.

Wairarapa results:

200m, Senior women: Simone Small 26.12 1. Women 40yrs: Andrea Williams 31.17 1. Women 18yrs: Sian Chapman 27.06 3, Bridget Milne 28.48 6, Toyah Churton 28.68 7, Tessa Laven 28.87. AWD men: Daniel Anstis 27.56 1, Keelan Ward 30.62 2. Men 18yrs: Finn Yeats 23.26 1, Dhruv Raman 24.63 4, Edward Hewitt 24.64 5, Jonty Morison 24.66 6, Liam Montgomery 25.75 7, Vanya Arnopp 33.88 8.

400m, Senior women: Simone Small 1.7.46 3. Women 40yrs: Andrea Williams 1.9.32s 1. Women 20yrs: Stevie Paine 59.89 1. AWD men: Daniel Anstis 1.1.83 1, Keelan Ward 1.8.21 2. Men 18yrs: Finn Yeats 55.62 3, Anril Raman 55.68 4, Jonty Morison 56.91 5, Liam Montgomery 59.28 6, Vanya Arnopp 1.10.92 7.

1500m, Men 55yrs: Tony Price 5.2.62 2.

3000m, Men 55yrs: Tony Price 10.34 1.

Long jump, Women 18yrs: Toyah Churton 4.47m 5. Men 18yrs: Liam Montgomery 5.02m 5. AWD men: Daniel Anstis 4.51m 1.

Discus, Men 20yrs: Tim Girling-McLean 34.24m 1.

Javelin, Men 20yrs: Tom Quinn 37.15m 1.


© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_n3 at 23 Sep 2014 22:21:53 Processing Time: 423ms