Community relay event hits the spot


Competition was keen at the Featherston Swimming Club's community relay event last week with 20 teams going all out for the major spoils.

It was a Kahutara combination, Tropic Thunder, who took the major spoils. Entries included two teams from the Masterton police and one from the Featherston fire brigade and club patron, Mrs Phil Murphy QSM was present to enjoy the action. Former Olympian - and a past member of the Featherston club - Jon Winter proved the quickest of the finalists in the South Wairarapa District Council Dash over 25m.


South Wairarapa District Council Dash 25m: Jon Winter (Raumati) 12.40s 1, Ben Ruback (Masterton) 12.83s 2, Kaden Saywell (Greytown) 12.94s 3, Jake Barham (Kahutara) 13.24s 4, Logan Barham (Kahutara) 13.35s 5. Kieran Te Whare (Masterton) 13.97s 6, John O'Connell (Greytown) 13.61s 7. Community relay premier final: Tropic Thunder from Kahutara (Logan Barham, Tom Vollebregt, Sam Vollebregt, Hugh Vollebregt) 1, High Octane from Eketahuna (Ryan Seator, Demi Rowden, John McTaggart and Liz McTaggart) 2, CLM from Masterton (Kieran Te Whare, Grace Hammond, Anja Habeerkann, Hollee (surname not listed)) 3, Flack Attack from Featherston (Jim, Leanne, Zoe and William Flack) 4.

Middle final: Bell Street Childcare from Featherston (Rachel Lamb, Lisa Pugh, Christina Johnson, Michael Holmes) 1, The Blues Brothers 2, Real Water Ninjas 3. Slow final: Ninja Ducks of Greytown (Ranui Kumar, Serenity Wilson, Zenith Marsh, Clarissa Wilson) 1, Forever Changing 2, St Teresas 3.

- Wairarapa Times-Age

© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_a5 at 21 Oct 2014 16:44:55 Processing Time: 288ms