Boaties hunting glory

Jet sprints

The James and Son Aquatrack in Featherston will come alive on Sunday when the second round of the New Zealand Jet Sprint Championships takes place.

Fresh from a victory in round one of the Suzuki Superboat class with his brand new boat and engine combination, Canterbury's Peter Caughey is confident he will only get better.

His main challenger, Leighton Minnell (Wanganui), was robbed of a possible win last time when his driveshaft failed in the final.

With everything fixed, he is aiming to be on the top step of the podium in Featherston.

Pat Dillon (Wanganui) nearly took an upset win in round one and will be hoping to have fixed the power loss problem with his supercharged Ford.

Ray Ferguson (Lower Hutt) and Steve Bron (Feilding) are intent on making up for a disappointing first round and newly-crowned Australian Superboat champion Greg Mercier has also brought his boat over.

After narrowly missing out last year, Sam Newdick (Hamilton) is on track to claim his first PSP Group A title. A win in round one was a good start but he will be chased hard at Featherston by Richard Murray (Wanganui) and Aussie Paul Gaston.

Aucklander Baden Gray will be hoping the mechanical problems he experienced in round one will not return.

In the entry level JetPro 400 class, times were very close between the top boats in the first round. Brett Thompson (Piopio) leads the championship but will be tested by Tim Edhouse (Owhanga).

The Featherston meet is a twilight affair with the first boats in the water at 12.30pm and the finals of each class expected to start at about 7.30pm.

Current points

Suzuki Superboat Championship: Peter Caughey (Canterbury) 30, Pat Dillon (Wanganui) 29, Leighton Minnell (Wanganui) 28, Steve Bron (Feilding) 26, Ray Ferguson (Lower Hutt) 25.

PSP Group A Championship: Sam Newdick (Hamilton ) 30, Richard Murray (Wanganui) 29, Paul Gaston (Queensland) 28, Bevin Muir (Thames) 26, Baden Gray (Auckland) 25,

JetPro 400s: Brett Thompson (Piopio) 30, Tim Edhouse (Owhanga) 29, Gerry Linklater (Wanganui) 28, Warren Farr (Taupo) 26, Patrick Haden (Otorohanga) 25.


- Wairarapa Times-Age

© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_a5 at 22 Oct 2014 00:54:26 Processing Time: 579ms