New Year racing gets off to a flyer


The New Year got off to a flyer for Athletics & Cycling, Masterton, with the first event an excellent evening of bike racing undertaken in fine conditions.

Two events were staged - the first a 3km individual time trial out and back on Watsons Rd followed by a mass start road race over one lap of the Pakaraka circuit.

Thirty riders, at 30-second intervals, headed off on the time trial. Fastest time went to Mark Langlands from Ben Knight and Pete James. Sue Bankier was fastest woman followed by Diane Chesmar and Kirsten Goodin. Close times were posted through the entire field. Unlike the last 3km TT, there was little coughing and spluttering at the conclusion. Maybe the warmth of the evening assisted. Maybe the summer holiday riding meant the field was in good nick for the start of the year.

Riders then relocated to Lakeview School for the mass start road race over one lap of the testing and varied Pakaraka circuit. The same three men took the honours - Langlands, Knight and James. The same three woman also took the honours but in a slightly different order - Bankier, Goodin and Chesmar.

As in most weeks, a good group of marshals kept time and the road safe for drivers and cyclists.

Next week, we compete in a two-up TT Gladstone and return over 32km. Be at Johnstone St for a 6pm start. No late registrations.


Individual time trial: Mark Langlands 4.03, Ben Knight 4.11, Pete James 4.16, Craig/Jenna Mangin 4.22, Devan Simmonds 4.24, Jeff Saywell 4.26, Earle Whitcombe 4.26, John Chesmar 4.28, Lawrence Field 4.35, Warwick Burr 4.36, Sue Bankier 4.36, Derek Cox 4.37, Terry Blackburn 4.39, Daniel Jaques 4.39, Mike Clinton-Baker 4.40, Ian Fraser 4.42, Simon Butler 4.44, Douglas Maclachlan 4.45, Grant Burkhart 4.53, Mike Parker 4.54, Anthony Morris 4.55, Rod Sutherland/Brian Lambert 4.55, Brian Sanders 4.57, Dave Howden 4.58, Dave Hodder 5.02, Stan Braaksma 5.03, John Murray 5.04, Diane Chesmar 5.14, Kirsten Goodin 5.26, Jo van Woerkom 6.07, Mike Wilkinson.

Mass start road race: Mark Langlands 28.22, Ben Knight Jack 28.28, Craig/Jenna Mangin 28.34, Pete James 28.35, Ian Fraser 29.43, Jeff Saywell 29.43, Devan Simmonds 29.44, Mike Clinton-Baker 29.44, Warwick Burr 29.44, John Chesmar 29.45, Mike Wilkinson 29.45, Brian Sanders 29.46, Lawrence Field 29.46, Terry Blackburn 29.47, Derek Cox 29.49, Earle Whitcombe 29.58, Simon Butler 32.55, Anthony Morris 32.55, Mike Parker 32.55, Sue Bankier 32.57, Douglas Maclachlan 32.57, John Murray 32.57, Daniel Jaques 33.40, Kirsten Goodin 33.48, Grant Burkhart 33.49, Dave Howden 33.49, Dave Hodder, Stan Braaksma 37.46, Rod Sutherland/Brian Lambert 38.48, Diane Chesmar 39.22, Jo van Woerkom DNF.


© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_n2 at 16 Sep 2014 23:26:10 Processing Time: 569ms