Little used circuit suits tandem pair


The tandem pairing of old hands Rod Sutherland and Brian Lambert captured line honours when 28 Athletics and Cycling Masterton cyclists took on the Dalefield circuit over four laps totalling 38km in a handicap road race on Tuesday night.

This circuit is rarely used and some riders took a few out-of-way country roads to finally arrive at the start line despite location instructions being posted the previous week.

The race provided momentary excitement for Wairarapa rail commuters as their train trundled along Railway Road and also for the many cows lining the roadside paddocks.

Largely flat, the circuit suited the Sutherland/Lambert tandem who took line honours from Dave Howden and Andrew Curtis-Cody, all from the first group of riders away.

This handicap road race started in Railway Rd by Matarawa station and took left turns into Watersons Line, Dalefield Rd, Jervois Rd and Moffats Rd. The local law was intrigued enough to stop where Sue Rogers was marshalling to check what was happening, then watched as riders streamed by satisfied with the professionalism of the event management.

Kudos goes to samaritan Mark Sowry who stopped on Moffats Road to corral a pesky wee dog that rushed at riders. His reward was to remount and hook on to the faster following riders, posting a splendid time as a result.

Other notable finishers were Donna Burkhart as first woman home, followed by Lesley Mouat (after riding to the circuit from Masterton) and Kirsten Goodin.

Riders appreciated the marshals spread around the course, as well as the excellent race management and time-keeping.

Actual finishing times were: Pete James 58.14, Dave Drummond 58.14, Phil Sutherland 58.16, Paul Wallace 58.18, Jeff Saywell 58.18, Lawrence Field 58.19, Mike Wilkinson 58.20, Ben Knight 58.23, Eddy Kuipers 58.25, Earl Whitcombe 1.01.02, John Chesmar 1.01.02, Todd Gillespie 1.01.03, Chris Best 1.01.05, Lesley Mouat 1.01.05, Brett Tulloch 1.01.08, Devan Simmonds 1.01.11, Simon Butler 1.05.02, Donna Burkhart 1.05.03, Mike Clinton-Baker 1.05.21, Mark Sowry 1.06.01, Douglas Maclachlan 1.07.14, Kirsten Goodin 1.07.14, Rod Sutherland and Brian Lambert (tandem) 1.08.44, Dave Howden 1.08.44, Andrew Curtis-Cody 1.09.18, Dave McKinlay 1.12.17, Diane Chesmar 1.14.19.


© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_a5 at 03 Oct 2014 05:28:53 Processing Time: 535ms