Local star reserve in NZ squad

By Gary Caffell


Wairarapa College middle distance star Alison Andrews-Paul has been named as a reserve for the New Zealand team to contest the Australian Youth Olympics Festival in Sydney from January 16 to 20, 2013.

The 30-strong squad (15 boys and 15 girls) along with 10 reserves - all of whom had to be aged under 18 as at December 31 this year - were selected based on their performances at the national secondary schools track and field championships held in Dunedin last weekend.

Andrews-Paul was one of five Wairarapa College students to win medals there. She placed second in the junior girls 800m in 2min 12.53sec and third in the 1500m in 4min 45.41sec.

Alex Fafeita was runner-up in the senior boys hammer throw (64.83m) shot put (17.44m) and discus (50.91m).

Katie Smith was second in the senior girls shot put with a put of 11.78m and Daniel Anstis was third in the AWD (athletes with disability) boys 400m in 60.28sec.

Sprinters Sian Chapman (Chanel College) and Alex Howden (Makoura College) placed fourth in the senior girls and senior boys 100m finals. Chapman clocked 12.47sec and Howden 11.19sec.

Other fourth placings were recorded by Finn Yeats (Rathkeale College) in the junior boys high jump with a leap of 1.61m and by Grace Burmeister (Tararua College) in the year 9 girls 3km run with a time of 10min 49.06sec.

Yeats was fifth in the junior boys 100m in 11.34sec, Anstis was sixth (13.64sec) and Keelan Ward seventh (14.38sec) in the AWD boys 100m, Edward Hewitt (Rathkeale College) was sixth in the senior boys 400m in 51.96sec, Ward was seventh in the AWD boys 400m in 73.91sec and Molly Creagh (Wairarapa College) was eighth in the senior girls 800m in 2min 18.58sec.

The St Matthew's Collegiate 4 by 100m junior relay team of Bridget Milne, Hannah Lang, Ella Sims and Sara-Jane Raleigh placed seventh in 54.77sec and the Rathkeale College 4 by 100m senior boys relay team of Jonty Morrison, Edward Hewitt, Dylan Lord-Bune and Dhruv Raman was sixth in 46.63sec.

In the field event arena Tom Quinn (Rathkeale College) was fifth in the senior boys hammer throw with a distance of 45.49m, Tim Girling McLean (Rathkeale College) was seventh in the senior boys shot put with a put of 40.12m and Emma Kruszona (Wairarapa) was fifth in the junior girls hammer throw with a best effort of 39.30m.


© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_a3 at 21 Sep 2014 12:02:50 Processing Time: 621ms