Maori finalists announced

Sports Awards

Finalists have been confirmed for the 2012 Wairarapa Maori Sports Awards, the winners of which will be announced at a function at Copthorne Solway Park on November 29.

Included among them is Black Fern Shakira Baker, who won the Sportswoman and overall Sportsperson of the Year awards in 2011. She will be unable to attend this year's function, as she is part of the Black Ferns squad which will be in England for a three-test series then.

The finalists are:

Male Tai Tamariki: Logen Allen (swimming, rugby) Dallas Swaneveld (swimming), Zachary Hullah (swimming, athletics, rugby).

Female Tai Tamariki: Amy Te Maro (swimming), Emma Samuels (swimming), Georgia Atkinson (tennis).

Junior male: Tane Workman (hockey), Connor Henare (athletics), Kendall Peterson (swimming).

Junior female: Te Aniwaniwa Hurihanganui (rugby sevens, futsal), Sade Atkinson (tennis), Sarah Marie Davies (squash, football).

Senior male: James Goodger (rugby), Danny Brown (softball), Kieran Te Whare (touch rugby).

Senior female: Shakira Baker (rugby, rugby sevens), Travistine Cook (netball, rugby sevens).

Team of the Year: Eketahuna women's triples outdoor bowls team, Makoura junior boys' rugby team, Makoura senior A netball team.

Coach: Dayle Clarkson (netball), Niheta Veale (hockey), Mark Harris (athletics).

Service to Sport: Leigh Reiri (squash), Te Kapua Haira (netball), Larissa O'Brien (netball).

Tickets for the awards function are on sale from November 13 and are available from Whaiora, 5 Park Street, Masterton, at a cost of $10 for children 14 years and under and $15 for adults. The night includes the awards ceremony, buffet meal and entertainment.


© Copyright 2014, APN New Zealand Limited

Assembled by: (static) on red akl_n4 at 01 Oct 2014 00:48:57 Processing Time: 693ms