Russell Baillie writes about movies for the Herald

The NZ film awards with so much moa

New Zealand movie makers left out in the cold by the national telly awards dropping film categories from their annual prize-giving are still getting an annual gong-fest to call their own.

The Sorta Unofficial New Zealand Film Awards - organised by Hugh Sundae of and Ant Timpson and presented by the New Zealand Herald and Rialto Channel - announced its nomination list last night, recognising the past year's Kiwi flicks great and small.

The SUNZFA categories take in fully fledged features, cinema-aimed documentaries, self-funded features and short films.

Among the leading contenders for the Moas - "named in honour of something extinct" say the organisers - are Two Little Boys and The Orator with 11 nominations each.

Feature film

Rialto Channel Best Film
The Orator
How to Meet Girls From a Distance
Two Little Boys
Good For Nothing
The Most Fun You Can Have Dying

Niche Cameras Best Self-Funded Film
Good For Nothing
We Feel Fine
The Red House

Canon Best Director
Dean Hewison - How to Meet Girls From a Distance
Tusi Tamasese - The Orator
Mike Wallis - Good For Nothing
Kirstin Marcon - The Most Fun You Can Have Dying
Robert Sarkies - Two Little Boys

Lotech Best Editing
Simon Price - The Orator
Annie Collins - Two Little Boys
Greg Daniels - Good For Nothing

Panasonic Best Cinematography
Leon Narbey - The Orator
Jac Fitzgerald - Two Little Boys
Crighton Bone - The Most Fun You Can Have Dying

Man O' War Best Actor
Richard Falkner - How to Meet Girls From a Distance
Fa'afiaula Sagote - The Orator
Bret McKenzie - Two Little Boys
Matt Whelan - The Most Fun You Can Have Dying

Man O' War Best Actress
Tandi Wright - Kiwi Flyer
Inge Rademeyer - Good For Nothing
Tausili Pushparaj - The Orator
Madeleine Sami - Sione's 2: Unfinished Business

Moa Beer Best Supporting Actor
John Bach - Rest For The Wicked
Jonathan Brugh - How to Meet Girls From a Distance
Will Hall - Netherwood

Moa Beer Best Supporting Actress
Aidee Walker - How to Meet Girls From a Distance
Jessica Joy Wood - Sione's 2: Unfinished Business
Salamasina Mataia - The Orator

Vendetta Films Best Screenplay
Tusi Tamasese - The Orator
Dean Hewison, Richard Falkner and Sam Dickson - How to Meet Girls From a Distance
Duncan Sarkies and Robert Sarkies - Two Little Boys

Images & Sound Best Visual Effects
Steve Cronin and Paul Story - Good For Nothing
Frank Rueter and Jake Lee - The Devil's Rock
Jon Baxter and Puck Murphy - Two Little Boys

Best Costume Design
Tristan McCallum - The Devil's Rock
Kirsty Cameron - The Orator
Amanda Neale - Two Little Boys

Best Makeup Design
Davina Lamont, Sean Foot and Richard Taylor - The Devil's Rock
Linda Wall - Two Little Boys
Ryk Fortuna - Good For Nothing

Best Production Design
Bruce Everard - The Most Fun You Can Have Dying
Jules Cook - Two Little Boys
Rob Astley, Roger Guise and Pouoa Malae Lialia'i - The Orator

APRA Best Score
Grayson Gilmour - The Most Fun You Can Have Dying
Don McGlashan and Dawn Raid - Sione's 2: Unfinished Business
David Long - The Red House
Tim Prebble - The Orator

APRA Best Sound
Tim Prebble, Chris Todd, Richard Flynn, Mike Hedges and Gilbert Lake - The Orator
Dave Whitehead, Gilbert Lake, Tim Chaproniere, Ray Beentjes, Ken Saville - Two Little Boys
Myk Farmer, Steve Finnigan and Chris Burt - Sione's 2: Unfinished Business

Documentary film

Best Documentary
Pictures of Susan
How Far is Heaven
The Last Dogs of Winter
Maori Boy Genius
Shihad: Beautiful Machine

Best Director
Dan Salmon - Pictures of Susan
Miriam Smith and Christopher Pryor - How Far is Heaven
Costa Botes - The Last Dogs of Winter
Pietra Brettkelly - Maori Boy Genius
Sam Peacocke - Shihad: Beautiful Machine

PLS Best Cinematography
Christopher Pryor - How Far is Heaven
Ben Freedman - Pictures of Susan
Peter Young - The Last Ocean

Best Editing
Christopher Pryor and Cushla Dillon - How Far is Heaven
Cushla Dillon - Shihad: Beautiful Machine
Jonno Woodford-Robinson and Richard Lord - The Last Ocean
Richard Lord and Ken Sparks - When A City Falls

Short film

Best Short
I'm the One
Honk If You're Horny

Best Self-Funded Short
In Safe Hands
Dr Grordbort Presents: The Deadliest Game
The Girl With The Clover Tattoo

Best Script
Sam Kelly - Lambs
Paola Morabito - I'm The One
Joe Lonie - Honk If You're Horny

StarNow Best Actor
Waka Rowlands - Lambs
Jim Moriarty - Whakatiki
Andy Anderson - Honk If You're Horny

StarNow Best Actress
Mabelle Dennison - Whakatiki
Maya Stange - I'm The One
Anapela Polataivao - Night Shift

PLS Best Cinematography
Andrew Stroud - Ellen Is Leaving
Ari Wegner - Night Shift
Bonnie Elliott - I'm the One

What: The Sorta Unofficial New Zealand Film Awards
When and where: Tuesday, December 4 at The Civic Wintergarden
Online: The awards will be streamed live on

- NZ Herald

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 24 May 2017 19:44:06 Processing Time: 641ms