Bangladesh wins toss, bats 1st in T20 against Sri Lanka

COLOMBO, Sri Lanka (AP) " Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and elected to bat first in the second and final Twenty20 international against Bangladesh on Thursday.

The match will be Mortaza's final in the shortest format of cricket after 53 matches. He has taken 41 wickets during a career spanning 11 years. He will, however, continue to play one-day internationals.

Bangladesh made two changes from the team that lost the first match on Tuesday. They dropped opening batsman Tamim Iqbal and seam bowler Taskin Ahmed.

Imrul Kayes and off spinner Mehedi Hasan have been called in to replace them. Hasan will be playing in his maiden Twenty20 international for Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka, with an unassailable 1-0 lead in the two-match series, fielded an unchanged side from the first match.



Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga (captain), Kusal Perera, Dilshan Munaweera, Chamara Kapugedara, Asela Gunaratne, Seekkuge Prasanna, Milinda Siriwardana, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Vikum Sanjaya.

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman.

This story has been automatically published from the Associated Press wire which uses US spellings

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 24 May 2017 23:20:11 Processing Time: 253ms