Cricket: Petulant Kohli dismissed cheaply

By Rob Forsaith

Indian batsman Virat Kohli. Photo / Paul Taylor
Indian batsman Virat Kohli. Photo / Paul Taylor

Virat Kohli antagonised Australia from the balcony of the hosts' changing room in Ranchi, but the visitors dismissed India's captain cheaply for a fifth time in the four-test series.

A smirking Kohli emerged on day three of the third test to clap and cheer an unsuccessful review by the visitors. The crucial moment came at the end of the 58th over yesterday and left Australia with zero reviews remaining until the 81st over.

Kohli's childlike applause for what he deemed an error by counterpart Steve Smith came three days after match referee Richie Richardson called on both skippers to ensure their teams behaved much better than in Bangalore, which hosted one of the most spiteful tests of the modern era.

The firebrand went on to applaud Australia's unsuccessful appeals throughout the morning session.

Kohli, who trudged off with a shoulder injury in Thursday's post-lunch session and was unable to return to the field, came out to bat after yesterday's meal break.

The out-of-form superstar lasted 37 minutes at the crease, scoring six off 23 balls. Kohli, regarded as the best batsman in the world by some judges, now has 46 runs in the series at 9.2.

Pat Cummins, entrusted with the second new ball, needed just one delivery to dismiss Kohli.

Kohli continued his miserable series when he fished at a wide delivery, with the resultant edge rocketing to Smith at second slip.

Smith and Matthew Wade were among the Australians to celebrate vocally and wildly, prompting umpire Chris Gaffaney to call over and caution the visiting skipper.

Gaffaney was the controlling umpire who turned down Steve O'Keefe's confident lbw appeal, which came when India were 149-1. It prompted Smith to waste a review and Kohli to celebrate.

Third umpire Nigel Llong ruled the lbw appeal was rightly given not out because the ball hit the bat first.

"I've got definite bat, inside edge," Llong said.

But there was a clear spike in the snickometer before the ball hit the willow, suggesting it glanced the front pad first and Llong should have rolled the ball-tracker replay.

"The ultra edge looked like it lit up before it hit the bat," Brett Lee said on Star Sports. "Front on, it looks clearly like it hits bat first."

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

SIGN UP NOW
Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 26 May 2017 10:34:26 Processing Time: 606ms