Sri Lanka wins toss, bats first in Bangladesh's 100th test

COLOMBO, Sri Lanka (AP) " Sri Lanka captain Rangana Herath won the toss and elected to bat first Wednesday in a match in which Bangladesh is marking its 100th test.

Sri Lanka leads the two-match series after a 259-run win at Galle last week.

Bangladesh made four changes for the second test, dropping Mahmudullah Riyad, Mominul Haque, Taskin Ahmed and Liton Das.

Mossadek Hossain, who has a first-class average of 68, has been handed his first test cap. He has previously represented his country in limited-overs cricket.

Batsmen Imrul Kayes, Sabbir Rahman and left-arm spin bowler Taijul Islam have all been recalled to the starting XI.

Sri Lanka has left out fast bowler Lahiru Kumara because of injury and added an extra batsman in Dhananjaya de Silva.


Sri Lanka: Rangana Herath (captain), Dimuth Karunaratne, Upul Tharanga, ,Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Asela Gunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lakshan Sandakan.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Subashis Roy, Mustafizur Rahman.

Umpires: Aleem Dar, Pakistan and Sundaram Ravi, India.

TV Umpire: Marais Erasmus, South Africa. Match Referee: Andy Pycroft, Zimbabwe.

This story has been automatically published from the Associated Press wire which uses US spellings

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf04 at 24 Apr 2017 00:23:30 Processing Time: 440ms