Australia wins toss, bats in 4th ODI vs. Pakistan

SYDNEY (AP) " Australia won the toss and elected to bat Sunday in the fourth one-day cricket international against Pakistan at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

Trailing 2-1 in the five-match series, Pakistan must win to keep the series alive heading into the final match at Adelaide on Thursday, the Australia Day national holiday.

Australia has made two changes to the lineup that won the third match of the series by six wickets at the WACA Ground. Fast bowler Mitchell Starc returns after being rested at Perth, replacing Billy Stanlake, while leg-spinner Adam Zampa comes in for allrounder James Faulkner.

Pakistan captain Azhar Ali rejoined the lineup after missing the second and third matches with a hamstring injury. He replaced Asad Shafiq.


Australia: Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steve Smith (captain), Travis Head, Peter Handscombe, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazelwood.

Pakistan: Azhar Ali (captain), Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Rizwan, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan.

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney, New Zealand, and Mick Martell, Australia.

TV umpire: Chettihody Shamshuddin, India. Match referee: Jeff Crowe, New Zealand.

This story has been automatically published from the Associated Press wire which uses US spellings

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 23 Mar 2017 21:24:44 Processing Time: 815ms