SAfrica bats 1st in final ODI, Australia faces 5-0 whitewash

CAPE TOWN, South Africa (AP) " South Africa captain Faf du Plessis won the toss and opted to bat first in the fifth and final one-day international on Wednesday as Australia faces losing a series 5-0 for the first time.

South Africa recalled fast bowler Dale Steyn and spinner Imran Tahir after they were rested for the fourth game, while seamer Kyle Abbott retained his place after his 4-40 in that match. Batsman David Miller also returns.

Australia brought quick bowler Joe Mennie in for John Hastings in another change to its struggling bowling lineup.

Top-ranked Australia has been surprisingly outplayed in the series, and must win at Newlands to avoid its worst performance in an ODI series.



South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Rilee Rossouw, JP Duminy, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Kyle Abbott, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir.

Australia: Steve Smith (captain), Aaron Finch, David Warner, George Bailey, Mitchell Marsh, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa, Chris Tremain, Scott Boland, Joe Mennie.

This story has been automatically published from the Associated Press wire which uses US spellings

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2016, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 10 Dec 2016 15:43:12 Processing Time: 490ms