Ireland bats 1st in ODI vs Australia in South Africa

BENONI, South Africa (AP) " Ireland won the toss and chose to bat in a one-off limited-overs international against Australia in South Africa on Tuesday.

Australia, the top-ranked ODI team, is warming up for a five-game series against South Africa starting Friday.

Against the Irish at Willowmoore Park in Benoni, Australia gave quick bowler Daniel Worrall his international debut. Worrall has played just 21 first-class games. Steve Smith returns to captain Australia after he was given a break during the recent tour to Sri Lanka.

Ireland lost by 206 runs to South Africa on Sunday and made one change after that heavy defeat, bringing in seam bowler Barry McCarthy for Craig Young.



Australia: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Usman Khawaja, George Bailey, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, John Hastings, Adam Zampa, Scott Boland, Daniel Worrall.

Ireland: William Porterfield (captain), Gary Wilson, Sean Terry, Stuart Poynter, John Anderson, Paul Stirling, Kevin O'Brien, Tim Murtagh, George Dockrell, Barry McCarthy, Peter Chase.

This story has been automatically published from the Associated Press wire which uses US spellings

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2016, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 29 Oct 2016 14:12:56 Processing Time: 832ms