Australia wins toss and fields in 1st ODI vs. Sri Lanka

COLOMBO, Sri Lanka (AP) " Australia captain Steve Smith has won the toss and elected to field first in the opener of the five-match one-day international series against Sri Lanka at R.Premadasa Stadium.

Sri Lanka goes into the game confident after beating Australia 3-0 in the test series. It handed ODI debuts to two spinners in left-arm wrist spinner Lakshan Sandakan and left-arm finger spinner Amila Aponso.

Australia dropped its frontline spinner Nathan Lyon.

Both teams have brought in limited-overs specialists who were not part of the test squad.



Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Kusal Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan,, Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Milinda Siriwardana, Dilruwan Perera, Amila Aponso, Lakshan Sandakan.

Australia: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Aaron Finch, George Bailey, Moises Henriques, Travis Head, Mathews Wade, James Faulkner Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

This story has been automatically published from the Associated Press wire which uses US spellings

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter


© Copyright 2016, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production bpcf05 at 26 Sep 2016 18:06:57 Processing Time: 428ms