Chiefs centre Seta Tamanivalu scored a crucial early try in their 28-27 win over the Hurricanes in Wellington last night - but should it have been awarded?

Tamanivalu received the ball 15 metres out early in the first half, powered through one tackle and stormed over the line, but as he reached out to ground the ball it looked like he let go of it.

Watch from 45 seconds:

Referee Craig Joubert sent it to TMO Glenn Newman, and Sky Sport commentator and Herald columnist Marshall weighed in with his view: "His reaction to me is he lost it. He's not got control of that ... he's let it go. I honestly think that's rubbish, I really do."

Advertisement

The TMO, after numerous replays, declared: "There's no clear and obvious separation, therefore you can award the try."

Read more: Chiefs edge Hurricanes in barnburner