Cricket: Guess who? Illingworth and Llong to umpire Black Caps' clash

Richard Illingworth wrongfully called a no ball during the first test between the Black Caps and Australia. Photo /Getty
Richard Illingworth wrongfully called a no ball during the first test between the Black Caps and Australia. Photo /Getty

The Black Caps just can't seem to avoid them when playing Australia.

Mike Hesson's side will have among the officiating team both Nigel Llong and Richard Illingworth for tomorrow night's World T20 match against Australia in Dharmasala.

Llong, of course, uttered the infamous words "there's a mark on a bat, but it could come from anywhere" before giving Australian spinner Nathan Lyon not out in the Adelaide day-night test and Illingworth incorrectly called a Doug Bracewell delivery a no ball when Adam Voges was bowled when on seven - he went on to score 239 which put the Aussies in a commanding position in the first test in Wellington.

The Black Caps were privately seething after both incidents. They had received apologies and reassurances from the ICC that there would be no repeat of the Lyon hotspot incident which jeopardised their chances of levelling November's test series in Adelaide.

Llong will be onfield for tomorrow night's game against Australia alongside South Africa's Marais Erasmus, while Illingworth will be third umpire.

The weather forecast, however, is less than promising with thunderstorms forecast at Dharmasala, in India's north on the edge of the Himalayas.

- NZ Herald

Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

SIGN UP NOW

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf04 at 24 Feb 2017 11:18:28 Processing Time: 365ms