Rugby: Rennie rings changes at Chiefs

Photo / Getty Images
Photo / Getty Images

Chiefs coach Dave Rennie has sprung a few selection surprises after his team's bye as he prepares to unlock a tight Stormers defence on Friday.

Tom Marshall, the former Crusaders fullback or wing, will make his Chiefs debut at second-five following a hand injury. Gareth Anscombe will play his first game of the season at fullback, with midfielder Robbie Fruean moved to the bench.

Wing James Lowe makes his first start of the season, with Tim Nanai-Williams named on the other wing.

Lock Brodie Retallick returns after missing the Chiefs' narrow win over the Highlanders a fortnight ago due to concussion.

The match will mark flanker Tanerau Latimer's 100th Super Rugby match.

Rennie said: "Over the last couple of years the Stormers have had the best defensive record in the competition and you saw why against the Crusaders. They obviously have a lot of character in their group and they are going to be a tough defensive unit to crack.''

Chiefs team to play the Stormers at Waikato Stadium on Friday, kick-off 7.35pm is: Gareth Anscombe, Tim Nanai-Williams, Charlie Ngatai, Tom Marshall, James Lowe, Aaron Cruden (c), Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Liam Squire, Tanerau Latimer, Liam Messam, Brodie Retallick, Matt Symons, Ben Tameifuna, Mahonri Schwalger, Jamie Mackintosh. Reserves: Rhys Marshall, Pauliasi Manu, Josh Hohneck, Michael Fitzgerald, Tevita Koloamatangi, Brad Webber, Robbie Fruean, Asaeli Tikoirotuma.

Stormers: Jaco Taute, Kobus van Wyk, Jean de Villiers (c), Damian
de Allende, Gio Aplon, Demetri Catrakilis, Nic Groom, Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Burger, Deon Fourie, De Kock Steenkamp, Ruan Botha, Brok Harris, Tiaan Liebenberg, Steven Kitshoff. Reserves: Stephan Coetzee, Oliver Kebble, Frans Malherbe, Siya Kolisi, Nizaam Carr, Louis Schreuder, Peter Grant, Sailosi Tagicakibau.

Will the Chiefs win again? Watch a Rugby Herald video here:



Get the news delivered straight to your inbox

Receive the day’s news, sport and entertainment in our daily email newsletter

Stats provided by

© Copyright 2017, NZME. Publishing Limited

Assembled by: (static) on production apcf05 at 29 May 2017 11:31:06 Processing Time: 811ms